Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Campus Fryslân

Award ceremony 'Wetenschapsprijs Campus Fryslân'

When:Th 16-05-2019 16:00 - 18:30
Where:City Hall, Hofplein 38, Leeuwarden

The province of Friesland is attracting quite some research talent, of which three top researchers have been nominated for the Science Prize Campus Fryslân 2019. The prestigious Wetenschapsprijs Campus Fryslân (Science Prize of Campus Fryslân) is an initiative of the University of Groningen/Campus Fryslân with the aim of stimulating young scientific research talent and increasing the quality of research that relates to Friesland and also has (inter)national appeal. The prize is financed by the municipality of Leeuwarden.

The jury consists of: Caspar van den Berg, professor of Global and Local Governance, University of Groningen/Campus Fryslân, Herman Blom, lecturer and director of NHL Stenden Academization and Evelyn Bosma, postdoctoral researcher at Leiden University and winner of the 2017 Science Prize.

Alderman of the municipality of Leeuwarden Friso Douwstra presents the Science Prize Campus Fryslân 2019. You are cordially invited to attend the ceremony and to share this invitation with your network. Please feel free to share this invitation within your network.


15.45 Walk-in

Opening and welcome speech by the Dean of Campus Fryslân, Prof. Andrej Zwitter


Introduction of the nominees by the chair of the jury, Prof. Caspar van den Berg

Presentations nominees Science Prize Campus Fryslân 2019
16.20 Dr. Jelmer Jeuring, thesis:
‘Perspectives on proximity tourism in Fryslân’
16.30 Dr. Jeroen Onrust, thesis:
‘Earthworm availability as key for the presence of wintering, migrating and breeding meadow birds’
16.40 Dr. Nelleke IJssennagger, thesis:
‘Central because liminal: Frisia in a Viking age North Sea world’
16.50 Musical interlude
17.00 Findings jury Wetenschapsprijs Campus Fryslân
17.15 Award ceremony by alderman Friso Douwstra, Municipality of Leeuwarden
17.25 Word of the winner Science Prize Campus Fryslân 2019
17.30 Reception
printView this page in: Nederlands