Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsEvents and open daysEducation dayLecturer of the Year Election

Dr. Malvina Nissim elected Lecturer of the Year

Prof. Sibrand Poppema and dr. Malvina Nissim
Prof. Sibrand Poppema and dr. Malvina Nissim

Prof. Malvina Nissim has been elected University of Groningen Lecturer of the Year 2016. The Assistant Professor Computational Linguistics at the Faculty of Arts was awarded both the Jury Prize and the Audience Award on Education Day. Prof. dr. Hans van Ees, chair of the jury, praised Nissim's talent for her enthusiastic, interactive and energetic way of teaching. Her lectures are both analytical and exciting and they invoke curiosity. Nissim received € 7,500, donated by the COWOG Fund, a work of art and an invitation to develop and teach a course unit at the Honours College.

Audience Award and Web Award

The Audience Award was also won by Nissim. Dr. Barend van Leeuwen of the Faculty of Law received most votes in the internet election and thus won the Web Award.

De nominated lecturers:

The University of Groningen Lecturer of the Year election was held this year for the tenth time.

In 2018 the election will take place on 12 April, as part of the new Education Festival.


The prize for the Lecturer of the Year, € 7,500, is donated by the COWOG Fund. This amount of money should be used for investment in the winner's education (further education, conference, study, student assistant, and the like). In addition, the winner will receive a sculpture created by Joek of Draanen. The COWOG Fund is a named fund under the Ubbo Emmius Fund of the University of Groningen and originated from the former Centre for Research and Development in Higher Education Groningen (COWOG; Centrum Onderzoek en Ontwikkeling van Hoger Onderwijs Groningen). The COWOG Fund aims to stimulate the development of higher education in Groningen.

Last modified:13 December 2017 5.11 p.m.
printAlso available in: Nederlands