Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Practical matters How to find us L.H. (Lex) Hoogduin

L.H. (Lex) Hoogduin

Emeritus professor and lecturer / manager / supervisor/entrepreneur

Graduated (1980) and done PhD (Some Aspects of Uncertainty and the Theory of A Monetary Economy) at Groningen University (1991)

Worked at the Dutch Central Bank as economist, head of the monetary and economic policy department, head of the research department, project leader of the merger of the Dutch Central Bank and the Dutch pension and insurance supervisor and executive director in 4 separate periods

Acted as advisor to the first President of the ECB (Wim Duisenberg) (1997-2001)

Acted as global chief economist of Robeco and as head of IRIS the joint investment research company of Rabobank and Robeco (2005-2009)

Worked as a consultant for the IMF in the context of the Polish stabilisation programme (early 1990s) and in the context of financial stability (2011-2013)

Had advisory roles at ING Bank (2012) and Accenture (2013-2014)

Acted as member and vice-chair of the Statistical Committee of Statistics Netherlands (2009-2015)

Was chair of the Supervisory Board of Welten B.V. (interim management and education in the financial sector) (2014-2015)

Was chair of the Supervisory Board of the Pallas project (building a new nuclear reactor for research and medical purposes in Petten, the Netherlands) (2012-2015)

Acted as vice-chairman of the advisory committee on the public debt of the Dutch Antilles (1994-1995)

Professor of Money and Banking at Groningen University (1995-2005), part-time

Professor of Monetary Theory and Financial Institutions- University of Amsterdam (2005-2013)- part time

Project leader at Holland Financial Centre (HFC) of setting up a Green Investment Company/Bank in the Netherlands (2011-2012)

Member of the European Commission Expert Group on a Debt Redemption Fund and Eurobills (2013-2014)

Member of the High Level Expert Group on the future of the Belgian financial sector(2015-2016)

Non-executive director at the London Stock Exchange Group( 2015-2018)

Chairman of LCH Group (2015-2018)

Independent non-executive director of LCH Group (2018-2020)

Independent non-executive director of LCH LLC (2013-2019)

Chairman of LCH Ltd (2015-2020)

Chairman of LCH SA (2016-2020)

Chairman of the Supervisory Board of CIR (2024-2022)

Member of the Supervisory Board of ATB (2021-2022)

Last modified:01 October 2022 3.29 p.m.