Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
ResearchZernike (ZIAM)About us

Zernike Board

The Board of the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials consists of

Prof.dr. Maria Antonietta Loi (chair)

(since July 2017, member since February 2014)
Room: 5118.0051; Tel: +31 50 363 4119; e-mail:

Prof.dr. Maria Antonietta Loi
Prof.dr. Maria Antonietta Loi

Maria Antonietta Loi studied physics at the University of Cagliari in Italy where she received the PhD in 2001. In the same year she joined the Linz Institute for Organic Solar cells, of the University of Linz, Austria as a post doctoral fellow. Later she worked as researcher at the Institute for Nanostructured Materials of the Italian National Research Council in Bologna Italy. In 2006 she became assistant professor and Rosalind Franklin Fellow at the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials of the University of Groningen, The Netherlands. She is now full professor in the same institution and chair of the Photophysics and OptoElectronics group. She has published more than 120 peer review articles in photophysics and optoelectronics of nanomaterials.

Prof.dr. Siewert-Jan Marrink

(since September 2010)
Room: 5171.0804; Tel: +31 50 363 4457; e-mail:

Prof.dr. Siewert-Jan Marrink
Prof.dr. Siewert-Jan Marrink

Siewert-Jan Marrink studied chemistry at the University of Groningen. In 1994 he received his PhD from the same University. Between 1995 and 2005 he pursued his career as contract researcher at BASF Ludwigshafen (1995) and Postdoc at the Max Planck Institute Tübingen (1996), the Australian National University (1997-1998), the University of New South Wales, Australia (1998-1999) and the University of Groningen (1999-2005). In 2005 he became full professor at the Faculty of Science and Engineering (University of Groningen) where he chairs the Molecular Dynamics Group.

Prof.dr. Katja Loos

(since July 2017)
Room: 5118.0357; Tel: +31 50 363 6867; e-mail:

Prof.dr. Katja Loos
Prof.dr. Katja Loos

Katja Loos specialized in Organic Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry during her university studies at the Johannes Gutenberg Universität in Mainz, Germany and the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, USA. She moved into the field of Enzymatic Polymerizations during her doctoral research at the University of Bayreuth, Germany and the Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brasil. After a postdoctoral research stay at Polytechnic University in Brooklyn, NY, USA she started an independent research group at the University of Groningen. Early in her career Katja Loos was awarded two travel scholarships of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and she received the very prestigious Feodor Lynen Fellowship award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to conduct her postdoctoral research. During her independent research career, the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO) awarded her the prestigious VIDI grant in 2009 and VICI grant in 2014 and the German Research Council (DFG) an Eleonore Trefftz guest professorship within the scope of its excellency initiative in 2016. In addition to this acknowledgment of her academic achievements and aspirations she was elected Fellow of the Dutch Polymer Institute (DPI). She is the chair of the board of the study group Macromolecules of the chemistry section of the Dutch Science Foundation (NWO) and a member of the board of the National Dutch Graduate School of Polymer Science & Technology (PTN). Bart J. Kooi

(since January 2017)
Room: 5113.0211; Tel: +31 50 363 4896; e-mail: Bart J. Kooi Bart J. Kooi

Bart J. Kooi studied Materials Science at Delft University of Technology and received his PhD degree with prof. Eric Mittemeijer in 1995 with a thesis entitled “Iron-Nitrogen Phases: Thermodynamics, Long-Range Order and Oxidation Behaviour”. Then he moved to the University of Groningen to work (since 1997) as assistant and associate professor in the research group Materials Science headed by prof. De Hosson with a main focus on electron microscopy e.g. of metal-oxide interfaces. In 2001 he started in parallel research on phase-change materials for memory applications which developed in a broader interest in chalcogenide materials. In 2009 he established his own research group “Nanostructured Materials and Interfaces” within the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials. He has published more than 160 articles in peer-reviewed journals with as overarching theme nanostructure-property relations.

© Photography by Sylvia Germes

Last modified:11 October 2018 3.28 p.m.