Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Our research Research schools OIKOS Awards and grants

OIKOS Thesis Award

Every two years OIKOS presents two awards for the best Research Master's theses written in the previous two academic years. One award is offered to the best thesis in the disciplines of Greek, Latin and Ancient Philosophy, the other for the best thesis in the disciplines of Ancient History and Classical Archaeology.

How to nominate candidates

Each participating university may nominate one thesis per discipline (i.e. every university may nominate a maximum of five theses). The nominations will be assessed by an independent international jury and the theses must therefore be written in English. The winners will be announced in January and the awards will be presented on the subsequent annual OIKOS Day in May. The award consists of a prize of €500,-. In addition, the winners will be invited to present a brief summary of the topic of their dissertation during the OIKOS Day.

For the OIKOS Thesis Awards 2022, Research Master's theses completed between 1 September 2019 and 31 August 2021 are eligible. Supervisors may nominate their candidates until 1 October 2021 by digitally sending the papers to oikos, stating the name of the candidate and supervisor(s), the title of the thesis, and the institution.


2020 - Patriciate Kret (UL), Marije Derksen (RU), Caterina Fossi (VU)
2017 - Tom Grijspaardt (UL) & Leonie Henkes (UL)
2016 - Ivo Wolsing (ACASA), Kay Boers (UU) & Sam van Dijk (UG)
2015 - Rens de Hond (RU) & Martje de Vries (UL)

Last modified:23 June 2021 10.00 a.m.