Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Our research Centres of expertise Centre for Digital Humanities

UG Faculty of Arts creates Chair of Digital Humanities

11 February 2021

On the recommendation of the Faculty Board, the Board of the University of Groningen has appointed CDH Director Susan Aasman as Full Professor of Digital Humanities at the Faculty of Arts.

The appointment is made in the context of the Aletta Jacobs Incentive Fund, which has created fifteen new chairs across the UG to promote female academic talent to full professorships. With this new chair in Digital Humanities the Faculty Board is explicitly committing itself to the strategic objectives of both the Faculty and the UG for the period 2021-2026, as also expressed in the UG-wide school Digital Society & Technology.

Susan Aasman believes it is crucial for researchers and students to learn to engage with both digitized and born-digital data and explore and acquire digital research skills. The coming years, the main goal will be to stimulate the ongoing digital turn within the Humanities as it will open new pathways to address various important societal issues that are currently at stake.

Read about all three appointments at the Faculty of Arts on the Faculty website.

Last modified:11 February 2021 11.30 a.m.

More news

  • 04 February 2021

    Molecule from nature provides fully recyclable polymers

    Plastics are among the most successful materials of modern times. However, they also create a huge waste problem. Scientists from the University of Groningen (The Netherlands) and the East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) in...

  • 10 December 2020

    Aletta Jacobs Chairs: 15 female professors appointed

    On International Women’s Day this spring, Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga announced that the UG would be creating 15 new chair positions for female professors, known as the Aletta Jacobs Chairs. Fifteen female professors will soon start their work...

  • 03 December 2020

    UG to award honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma

    On Friday 22 January 2021, the University of Groningen (UG) will award an honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma. The former CEO of DSM will be presented with his honorary doctorate by Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga during the special Nobel...