Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Graduate School for the Humanities Research

Research focus

The research in the Faculty of Arts covers the following fields: Archaeology, Cultural Studies, History, International Relations, Journalism, Language and Literary Studies, and Linguistics.

Research Institutes

Research takes place in the three faculty research institutes. The institutes are engaged in different fields of research and develop their own research programme every five years. Each is headed by a director. The Faculty also has many research and competence centres and participates in various research schools at a national level.

Research Schools

The research institutes of the Faculty of Arts participate in local and national research schools. The national research schools handle part of the training provided to PhD students and also maintain their own research programme. Each research school has a Director and a Scientific Advisory Board and is governed by one the participating faculties, which functions as secretary (penvoerder). The national research schools, united in the Council of Dutch Research Schools in the Humanities ( LOGOS ), have been acknowledged by the Council of Deans in Arts and Humanities (Disciplineoverleg Letteren en Geesteswetenschappen, DLG). The quality of the educational programme and the research performed is assessed during the governing institution’s research evaluation.

Participation by CLCG

CLCG participates in the local BCN research school (Groningen Graduate School for Behavioural and Cognitive Neurosciences) and in the national LOT research school (Netherlands Graduate School of Linguistics).

Participation by GIA

GIA participates in the national research school for archaeological research ARCHON and in the national Research School for Classical Studies (OIKOS).

Participation by ICOG

ICOG participates in the Research School for Medieval Studies, in the national research school for Classical Studies (OIKOS) , in the N.W. Posthumus Instituut, in the national Research School for Art History (OSK), in the Research School for Political History (Onderzoeksschool Politieke Geschiedenis), the Research School for for Media Studies (RMeS), in the Huizinga Instituut and the Netherlands Institute of Cultural Analysis (NICA). ICOG acts as secretary of the national Research School For Literary Studies (Onderzoeksschool Literatuurwetenschap, OSL).

Last modified:07 May 2024 3.20 p.m.