Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research GELIFES Research

Expertise Groups

Research within the institute is organised in six expertise groups: cooperative assemblies of research units with similar interests that commonly share support staff, facilities and sometimes teaching responsibilities. Expertise groups typically consist of four to eight core units and a number of associated units that participate in meetings and seminars on a regular basis.

Behavioural & Physiological Ecology
Coordinator: Simon Verhulst

BPE research units:
Dietz group - Ecophysiology
Dugdale group - Evolution of senescence
Komdeur group - Evolutionary ecology
Tieleman group - Ecological & evolutionary physiology
Verhulst group - Evolutionary biology of ageing
Conservation Ecology Group
Coordinator: Christiaan Both

ConsEco research units:
Both group - Global change ecology
Govers group - Marine conservation ecology
Olff group - Community & conservation ecology
Piersma group - Global flyway ecology
Smit group - Experimental conservation ecology
Van der Heide group - Coastal ecology

Theoretical Research in Evolutionary Life Sciences
Coordinator: all

TRÊS research units:
Etienne group - Theoretical & evolutionary community ecology
Hemelrijk group - Selforganisation of social systems
Pen group - Theoretical evolutionary ecology
Van Doorn group - Evolutionary systems biology
Weissing group - Theoretical biology
Evolutionary Genetics, Development & Behaviour

Coordinator: Mick Elliot

EGDB research units:
Beukeboom lab - Genetics and evolution of reproductive systems
Billeter lab - Neurogenetics of social and sexual behaviour
Elliot lab - Evolutionary and comparative reproductive physiology
Groothuis lab - Behavioural biology
Maan group - Speciation, adaptation and sexual selection
Van de Zande lab - Functional molecular aspects of biological complexity
Wertheim lab - Evolutionary genomics of ecological interactions

Genomics Research in Ecology & Evolution in Nature
Coordinator: Marjon de Vos

GREEN research units:
De Vos lab - Microbial eco-evolutionary medicine
Elzenga lab - Ecophysiology of plants
Eriksson lab - Marine ecology
Falcao Salles lab - Microbial community ecology
Lequime lab - Virus ecology and evolution
Palsbøll lab - Marine evolution & conservation
Stefels lab - Ecophysiology of marine microalgae
Van der Meij lab - Evolutionary diversification of reef-associated marine organisms


Coordinator: Robbert Havekes

NeuBio research units:
Buwalda lab - Behavioural neuroscience
De Boer lab - Behavioural neurobiology
Eisel lab - Molecular neurobiology
Havekes lab - Molecular neurobiology
Helm group - Biological rhythms in natural systems
Hut lab - Chronobiology
Kas lab - Behavioural neuroscience
Meerlo lab - Chronobiology
Olivier lab - Behavioural neuroscience
Scheurink lab - Neuroendocrinology
Schoemaker lab - Molecular neurobiology
Van der Zee lab - Molecular neurobiology
Van Dijk lab - Integrative neurobiology of energy balance
Last modified:08 September 2020 4.56 p.m.