Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research ENTEG News overview

Automatica paper award 2017-2020 for ENTEG researchers

25 June 2020

Xiaodong Cheng (ENTEG), Jacquelien Scherpen (ENTEG), and Bart Besselink (Bernoulli) have been awarded the Automatica Paper Prize over the period 2017-2020. The Automatica Paper Prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to the theory and/or practice of control engineering or control science, documented in a paper published in the IFAC Journal Automatica. At each IFAC World Congress the prize is awarded to the authors of three selected papers published in Automatica in the three years preceding the Congress. Automatica is one of the top journals in the Systems and Control field.

The paper treats a new model reduction method for large scale networks where the nodes of the network consists of a dynamical system that is connected with the other agents through inputs and outputs, and the network as a whole also has external inputs and outputs that can be used to influence the behaviour of the system. An example of such system is the various devices connected with each other in our power grid. For designing control methods the input output structure of both the network and the nods is very important. There exists a classical method that takes the input-output structure into account, but when applied to a network of systems, this network structure is destroyed. Since the network structure is highly relevant, also for control design, the paper adapts the classical method in a very innovative manner so that the network structure can be preserved while significantly simplifying the network structure in the same time as the system at the node, providing convincing a priori error bounds.

Here is the link to the full paper:
Balanced truncation of networked linear passive systems
Automatica, Volume 104, June 2019, Pages 17-25

Last modified:12 August 2020 2.21 p.m.

More news

  • 04 March 2024

    A plant-based sensor

    Every two weeks, UG Makers puts the spotlight on a researcher who has created something tangible, ranging from homemade measuring equipment for academic research to small or larger products that can change our daily lives. That is how UG...

  • 11 December 2023

    Join the 'Language and AI' community

    As a part of the Jantina Tammes School, the 'Language and AI' theme is an interdisciplinary initiative that aims to encourage collaboration among academics, PhD candidates, students, and industry representatives who share a keen interest in the...

  • 13 October 2023

    Moniek Tromp appointed Captain of Science of the Top Sector Chemistry

    Prof. Moniek Tromp has been appointed Captain of Science of the Chemistry Top Sector by the Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy. As from 1 July 2023, she succeeded Prof. Bert Weckhuysen from Utrecht University.