Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Fardo Eringa wins prize for best dissertation

01 July 2022

This year’s PhD prize of the University of Groningen has been awarded to Dr. Fardo Eringa, for her dissertation entitled This is it: Worldviews and fandom of female Michael Jackon-pilgrims and their journeys towards living Mike-like. Fardo received the award from Prof. Cisca Wijmenga, Rector of the university, at the Ceremony of Merits on 1 July 2022.

Since 2015, the Wieringa-Rengerink prize is awarded annually to the PhD student who has written the best UG dissertation. Each faculty chooses its own winner and from this selection the jury, consisting of former rectors, chooses the final winner. Only exceptionally good dissertations are eligible (at least cum laude). The Wierenga-Rengerink family provides the prize through the Ubbo Emmius Fund. The winner receives €7.500 for further academic development.

Would you like to know more about Fardo’s research? Then you should read her interview about the phenomenon ‘Michaeling’.

Fardo wins prize for best dissertation
Last modified:14 June 2023 3.46 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 24 May 2024

    Lustrum 410 in pictures

    Lustrum 410 in pictures: A photo report of the lustrum 2024

  • 21 May 2024

    Results of 2024 University elections

    The votes have been counted and the results of the University elections are in!

  • 13 May 2024

    Trapping molecules

    In his laboratory, physicist Steven Hoekstra is building an experimental set-up made of two parts: one that produces barium fluoride molecules, and a second part that traps the molecules and brings them to an almost complete standstill so they can...