Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Research grant for Pauline Kleingeld's programme 'Universal Moral Laws'

19 June 2018
Pauline Kleingeld

Pauline Kleingeld has been awarded a research grant by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) for her project 'Universal Moral Laws: A New Approach to Kant and Kantian Ethics'. Pauline Kleingeld is professor of ethics and its history at the Faculty of Philosophy.

Universal Moral Laws

This research programme is devoted to investigating the political-theoretical background of central concepts of Kant's universalist ethics, such as 'moral legislation’, 'autonomy', 'human dignity', and 'freedom of the will'. On the basis of the resulting new interpretation, the group will also examine the prospects for developing a convincing Kantian ethical theory.

Free Competition Humanities

The Free Competition Humanities programme provides research funding of a maximum of 750,000 euros per proposal for the best proposals within the Humanities. Of a total of 164 applicants who submitted preproposals, 60 were invited to submit full applications, and 12 received funding.

This article was published by the Faculty of Philosophy.

Last modified:31 August 2021 4.11 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 11 December 2023

    Join the 'Language and AI' community

    As a part of the Jantina Tammes School, the 'Language and AI' theme is an interdisciplinary initiative that aims to encourage collaboration among academics, PhD candidates, students, and industry representatives who share a keen interest in the...

  • 21 November 2023

    KNAW Early Career Award for Charlotte Knowles

    Charlotte Knowles , researcher at the Faculty of Philosophy, receives an Early Career Award from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences ( KNAW ). She receives the award for her research on deep-rooted issues in gender dynamics. The...

  • 04 July 2023

    Philosophy in pre-vocational education (VMBO)

    Critical thinking, giving your opinion, and listening to others are all things you learn in philosophy class. Every student needs those skills, says Eva-Anne Le Coultre, specialist in philosophical teaching methodology at the UG.