Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Philosophy in Groningen again rated as the best

Ten years in a row, with one exception
14 March 2017

On September 29, 2016, Elsevier made public the results of their Best Studies research: again students adjudicated the Groningen bachelor programme in philosophy as the best in the country. The same occurred in the past nine years, with the sole exception of 2014, when Groningen came out number two in the students’ judgement, although the professors in that year too placed Groningen on top.

Significantly higher

The satisfaction of the students is most striking when it concerns their assessment of the teachers: they give them 90 points (out of 100 --- significantly higher than the average). The students are also considerably happier about the facilities and about organisation/communication: in these categories Groningen received 76 and 73 points respectively. Finally, the overall judgement (75 points) is significantly higher than the mean.

More information

View the Top-4 and compare scores per category on: Elsevier Beste Studies: bachelor philosophy (in Dutch)

This article was published by the Faculty of Philosophy.

Last modified:14 May 2021 4.16 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 14 March 2023

    'Consolation is being able to give meaning to loss'

    Being able to give meaning to loss – that is what consolation is. Christoph Jedan, Professor of Ethics and Comparative Philosophy of Religion, examined the consolation literature of theologians and of philosophers from classical antiquity. He...

  • 23 February 2023

    Vici grants for four researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to four UG/UMCG researchers. Prof. Marleen Kamperman, Prof. Lisa Herzog, Prof. Ming Cao and Prof. Floris Foijer can use this money to develop an innovative line of...

  • 20 February 2023

    Vijf RUG-onderzoekers benoemd bij Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen

    De Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW) heeft dit jaar Sjoerd Beugelsdijk, Lisa Herzog, Jeroen de Ridder, Moniek Tromp en Helga de Valk benoemd als nieuwe leden.