Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Nine honorary doctorates on 400th anniversary of the University of Groningen

01 July 2013

In 2014, the University of Groningen will be conferring nine honorary doctorates on the occasion of its 400th anniversary. The honorary doctors have been proposed by the University faculties in recognition of their extraordinary contribution to their fields of expertise.

The honorary doctorates are being awarded to: prof. José Casanova (Theology and Religious Studies); prof. Ronald M. Evans (Medical Sciences); prof. Andreas Faludi (Spatial Sciences); prof. Sir Francis Jacobs QC KCMG (Law); prof. Renata Kallosh (Mathematics and Natural Sciences); prof. Christine M. Korsgaard (Philosophy); prof. Dani Rodrik (Economics and Business); prof. Michael Schudson (Arts); prof. Robert E. Slavin (Behavioural and Cognitive Sciences).

José Casanova

Professor José Casanova, Georgetown University (Theology and Religious Studies)

Casanova has been proposed for an honorary doctorate in recognition of his exceptional performance in the field of the sociology of religion, with a special interest in contemporary questions concerning the relationship between religion, secularism and globalizaton processes.

Ronald Evans

Professor Ronald M. Evans, Salk Institute for Biological Studies (Medical Sciences)

Evans is one of the pioneers in research in the field of nuclear hormone receptors. He made a crucial contribution to the discovery of this superfamily of transcription factors, and subsequently to the clarification of their mechanisms of action and their role in physiology and in diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease and cancer.

Andreas Faludi

Professor Andreas Faludi, TU Delft (Spatial Sciences)

Faludi, appointed an honorary member of the Association of European Schools of Planning four years ago, is receiving an honorary doctorate in recognition of his exceptional performance in the field of planning theory and his contributions to the debate within planning sciences, in particular in the field of rational theory and European spatial planning. › read more

Sir Francis Jacobs

Professor Sir Francis Jacobs QC KCMG, King's College London (Law)

Jacobs is professor of European Law at King’s College London. From 1988 to 2006 he was Advocate General at the European Court of Justice in Luxembourg. He has made significant academic and judicial contributions to European Union Law and European Human Rights Law and is currently President of the European Law Institute.

Renata Kallosh

Professor Renata Kallosh, Stanford University (Mathematics and Natural Sciences)

Kallosh is a world-famous theoretical physicist who has made crucial contributions to several fields of theoretical physics, including quantum gravity, supersymmetry and inflation in string theory. She has been influential for a whole generation of physicists, who have been inspired by her enthusiasm in numerous joint projects.

Christine Korsgaard

Professor Christine M. Korsgaard, Harvard University (Philosophy)

Korsgaard is one of the most influential moral philosophers of our time. She combines highly original philosophical arguement with insightful work on the history of ethics. Her work concerns both the foundations of morality and contemporary moral problems, and has been ground-breaking in both areas.

Dani Rodrik

Professor Dani Rodrik, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (Economics and Business)

Rodrik is receiving an honorary doctorate in recognition of his exceptional performance as a scholar in the field of International Political Economy, and in particular his research on the interface of international economics, economic growth and development, and institutional and political economics.

Michael Schudson

Professor Michael Schudson, Columbia Journalism School (Arts)

Schudson is one of the most influential and innovative scholars within Journalism Studies. Working at the interface of sociology, history and political sciences, he has expanded research on journalism to include the study of professional norms, routines and conventions, and their effect on how journalism functions within a democracy. ›

Bob Slavin

Professor Robert E. Slavin, School of Education, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore and University of York (Behavioural and Social Sciences)

Slavin is a much quoted educationist, primarily because of his series of overview articles on what works in education – evidence-based education. He and his staff have translated the key findings into the educational programme Success for All, which has already led to important improvements in language skills among over two million pupils, and thus to better learning careers and professional careers. › read more

Note for the press

More information about the conferral of the honorary doctorates on 13 June 2014 and the possibilities of attending the award ceremony will follow in spring 2014.

More information: Piet Bouma, head of the University of Groningen Communication Office, tel. 050-363 4444, e-mail communicatie

Last modified:09 July 2020 3.22 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news