Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Magnetic order from molecular oxygen anions

04 May 2012

PhD ceremony: Mr. S. Riyadi, 11.00 uur, Academiegebouw, Broerstraat 5, Groningen

Dissertation: Magnetic order from molecular oxygen anions

Promotor(s): prof. T.T.M. Palstra, prof. R.A. de Groot

Faculty: Mathematics and Natural Sciences

The magnetic properties of alkali metal oxide compounds, which are determined by the behavior of molecular oxygen species, are investigated with a view to their potential as new spintronics materials.

Spintronics is an emerging technology in which solid-state devices use not only the charge of the electron, but also its spin and the magnetic moment associated with it. Since oxygen is a light element, alkali oxides might offer advantages over materials that are used in today’s technology.

The oxygen molecule (O2) is important for living creatures. Apart from this, oxygen is also interesting for the condensed-matter physicist because it is a magnetic molecule. Oxygen solidifies below 54.36 K (-218.79 ° C) and shows many interesting physical phenomena below this temperature. For example, it has been reported that oxygen is superconducting below 0.6 K at high pressure (100 GPa).

Different types of oxygen species, oxide (O2-), peroxide (O2 2-), and superoxide (O2 -), can be formed when molecular oxygen chemically bonds with alkali metals such as potassium (K), rubidium (Rb), and cesium (Cs). These species can give rise to a wide range of interesting physical properties.

The thesis discusses three main topics: 1) exploring the chemical synthesis and properties of new chemical phases of rubidium oxides (RbOx); 2) ferromagnetic order driven by superoxide ions in RbO1.66; 3) one-dimensional antiferromagnetic spin-chain order formed by superoxide ions in CsO2.

Last modified:15 September 2017 3.42 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 24 May 2019

    Four UG researchers win Vidi grants

    The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) has awarded an EUR 800,000 Vidi grant each to 86 experienced researchers. Four of these conduct their research at just one faculty at the University of Groningen (UG): the Faculty of Science...

  • 24 May 2019

    First edition of Top HR Leadership Programme successfully completed

    The University of Groningen Business School (UGBS) and the In the LEAD centre of expertise at the University of Groningen are looking back on a successful first edition of the Top HR Leadership programme. On 21 May, eight top HR professionals with different...

  • 22 May 2019

    The North of the Netherlands goes down under during Solar Challenge

    Students of Hanze University of Applied Sciences (UAS), University of Groningen and Noorderpoort will be competing in the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge in Australia for the first time, with their own uniquely built and designed solar car called...