Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Trans reentrant loop structures in secondary transporters

02 April 2012

PhD ceremony: Mr. A.J. Dobrowolski, 12.45 uur, Academiegebouw, Broerstraat 5, Groningen

Dissertation: Trans reentrant loop structures in secondary transporters

Promotor(s): prof. A.J.M. Driessen

Faculty: Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Biological membranes have a very important role in protecting the cell against the stressful environment and, at the same time, they have to enable uptake of different substrates, like nutrition factors, and extrusion of waste products. Essential transport functions are facilitated by transport proteins, which catalyze the physical process of movement of substrates from one side of the membrane to the other. The work described in this thesis focuses on the investigation of structural similarity between families of transporter proteins, and, in particular, the glutamate symporter GltS of Escherichia colii and the citrate symporter CitS of Klebsiella pneumoniae were studied. These two transporter proteins, and other members of their families, are not related in amino acid sequence but share similar hydropathy profiles, which suggests a similar folding of the proteins in the membrane and a similar mechanism of transport. Starting from the bioinformatics data obtained from the MemGen classification system and a previous topology study of CitS we were able to predict and confirm experimentally the membrane topology of GltS and in this way show that analysis by hydropathy profiles of membrane proteins is a powerful tool to study structures of membrane proteins in the absence of X-ray structural data. The obtained data suggest that both proteins consist of two homologous domains containing trans reentrant loops, and that are connected by a long cytoplasmic loop. The reentrant loops are important for the activity of the transporters, interact at the interface of the two domains and form a translocation pathway for substrates and co-ions.

Last modified:15 September 2017 3.42 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 20 September 2019

    Start of MOSAiC – the Greatest Arctic Research Expedition of All Time

    After a decade of preparations, it’s finally time: on the evening of 20 September the German icebreaker Polarstern departs from the Norwegian port of Tromsø. Escorted by the Russian icebreaker Akademik Fedorov, she will set sail for the Central Arctic...

  • 20 September 2019

    Imagining Science

    Noorderlicht and the University of Groningen (RUG) continue their collaboration in the ‘Imagining Science’ series. Each year they commission a photographer to depict a scientific research field in relation to the Noorderlicht festival-theme of the year...

  • 18 September 2019

    Sustainable banks augment the safety of the financial system

    Banks with a high sustainability score have a lower default risk. In addition, the most sustainable banks help to reduce the systemic risk of the financial system as a whole. These are the conclusions of Bert Scholtens, Professor of Sustainable Banking...