Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Presentation of the Aart Bosman Prize for Information Systems on 1 November

23 October 2007

On Thursday 1 November, the Prof. Aart Bosman Prize 2007 will be awarded for the best PhD thesis defence in the field of Information Systems at a Belgian or Dutch university. During the celebrations, attention will also be paid to important scientific developments in the field of Information Systems.

The Bosman Prize of EUR 4,000 is awarded once every two years. The chair of the jury is Prof. H.G. Sol, Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Business at the RUG. The nominees are Dr J.A. Sassenburg with a thesis entitled Design of a methodology to support software release decisions and Dr R.P.W. Poels with a thesis entitled Beïnvloeden en meten van business- en IT-alignment [Influencing and measuring business and IT alignment]. The jury will choose the PhD thesis that contributes the most to the anchoring, expansion or innovation of the Information Systems discipline.

Prof. Bosman
The prize is named after Emeritus Professor Aart Bosman of the RUG, pioneer and founder of the field of Information Systems in the Netherlands. Bosman has numerous Dutch and international publications to his name. He supervised thirty PhD students, ten of whom are now professors in their own right. His books are still being used in higher education in the Netherlands.

Programme and location
Speeches at the award ceremony on the theme ‘Simulatie als onderzoeksmethode’ [Simulation as a research methodology] will be given by Prof. A. Bosman, Dr J.C. Frowein of advice bureau M&I/Partners, Prof. C. Takkenberg of the University of Tilburg and Prof. A. Verbraeck of the TU Delft.

The ceremony will take place in the Donald Smits Hall at the Zernikeborg, Nettelbosje 1, 9747 AJ Groningen.

For further information:
- Registration: Ms J. Born, tel. 050-363 3864, e-mail
- For questions about content: Prof. E.W. Berghout, Business & ICT, tel. 050 363 3721, e-mail
- Aart Bosman Prize website

Related news: Aart Bosman Prize for the best IT research 2005

Last modified:31 January 2018 11.51 a.m.

More news