Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering Our Education School of Science and Engineering

School of Science and Engineering

The SSE is responsible for organizing and running the 38 Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes of the Faculty of Science and Engineering.

As of 1 September 2020, the Education Support Centre, the Undergraduate School of Science and Engineering, and the part of the Graduate School of Science and Engineering that is concerned with the Master’s degree programmes are merged into one institute, called the School of Science and Engineering (SSE).The majority of these programmes are organized into 6 disciplinary clusters. Each of the clusters is supervised by a programme board and supported by a cluster team.

Education Management Team (EMT)

The School of Science and Engineering is managed by its Education Management Team (EMT). The EMT is among other things responsible for the design and operation of all education support processes, for the implementation of education policies, for the execution of the HRM-policy within the School and for the staffing, logistics, facilities, and finances for education.

Board members EMT

Board Members EMT

Drs. A. (Loes) Schaafsma (chair)

- head of the SSE Office and the EWS team


Prof. dr. M.J.E.C. (Marc) van der Maarel

- chair of the Chemistry, Biology, Engineering and Pharmacy Cluster


Dr. C.J.G. (Gerco) Onderwater

- chair of the Mathematics and Physics Cluster and chair of the Programme Board of MSc Science and Communication


Advisors and Support

Ms. M. (Marlies) Beuving

HR Advisor Zernike

Ms. C.E.W. (Carole) Elling

Coordinator Business Operations SSE

Ms. J.P. (Justyna) Majchrzak

Formal Secretary

Ms. A.D. (Amarins) Petitiaux


Secretarial Office EMT

General email addres


Opening hours Monday to Friday - from 08.00 to 17.00 hrs
Room number 5161.0548 (Bernoulliborg)

Ms. M.H. (Mariëtte) Holthof and Ms. J. (Jannie) van der Molen

  • Please contact Mariëtte or Jannie if you want to make an appointment with Prof. Dr. M.J.E.C. van der Maarel
  • Secretarial support weekly meetings Heads Cluster Teams

Ms. A.D. (Amarins) Petitiaux

  • Please contact Amarins if you want to make an appointment with Dr. C.J.G. Onderwater
  • Secretarial support weekly meetings Education Management Team (EMT)
  • SSE web editor
For appointments with Drs. A. Schaafsma please send an email to sec.sse
Support Teams

The support teams within the SSE are here to support students and lecturers of the Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE), both digitally and personally in various areas related to education. Via the menu on the left side you can find information about the different types of support that is available. Most groups were previously part of the Education Support Centre but they are now embedded in the new educational organization.

Last modified:29 October 2021 2.57 p.m.