Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
OnderzoekSustainable Society - linking SSH research to societySuSo and Research


In total, the University of Groningen is made up of ten faculties, including the University College and an Honours College. All these faculties have their own research areas, institutes and centres.

Faculty of Economics and Business

Research institutes:
SOM Research Institute
GSG - Globalisation Studies Groningen
GESP - Groningen Energy and Sustainability Programme
SuSo - Sustainable Society
N.W. Posthumus Institute

Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences

Research schools:
School of Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience (BCN)
Kurt Lewin Institute (KLI)
Graduate School of Science, Technology and Modern Culture (WTMC)
Institute for the Study of Education and Human Development (ISED)
Interuniversity Graduate School for Psychometrics and Sociometrics (IOPS)
Interuniversity Center for Social Science Theory and Methodology (ICS)

Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies

Research institutes and centres:
Qumran Institute
Institute for Christian Cultural Heritage
Centre for Religion, Conflict and the Public Domain
Centre for the Study of Religion and Culture in Asia
CRASIS: Culture, Religion and Society in Graeco-Roman Antiquity

Faculty of Arts

Research institutes and centres:
Centre for Language and Cognition Groningen (CLCG)
Groningen Institute of Archaeology
The Groningen Research Institute for the Study of Culture (ICOG)

Faculty of Medical Sciences

Research institutes:
Institute for Medical Education
GUIDE Institute : Chronic Diseases and Drug Exploration ( Programmes )
BCN-BRAIN Institute : Behavioural and Cognitive Neurosciences ( Programmes )
SHARE Institute : Science in Healthy Ageing and healthcaRE ( Programmes )
W.J.Kolff Institute: Biomaterials (Programmes)
CRCG Institute : Fundamental, Clinical and Translational Cancer Research ( Programmes )

Faculty of Law

Research centres:
Groningen Centre for Law and Governance
Groningen Centre of Energy Law
Graduate School of Law

Faculty of Spatial Sciences

Research areas:
Place, identity and wellbeing
Population and Well-being in Context
Economy in place
Institutional Innovation & Spatial Transformation

Tourism Research Network Northern Netherlands (TOREN)

Faculty of Philosophy

Groningen Research Institute of Philosophy

Research centres:
Centre for Philosophy, Politics and Economics
Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Thought

Faculty of Sciences and Engineering

Research institutes:
Alice - Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Engineering
CBN- Centre for Behaviour and Neurosciences
CEES - Centre for Ecological and Evolutionary Studies
ESRIG - Energy and Sustainability Research Institute Groningen
GBB - Groningen Biomolecular Sciences and Biotechnology Institute
GRIP - Groningen Research Institute of Pharmacy
IDO - Instituut voor Didactiek en Onderwijsontwikkeling
ITM - Research institute of Technology and Management
JBI - Johann Bernoulli Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science
Kapteyn Institute
Stratingh Institute for Chemistry
Van Swinderen Institute for Particle Physics and Gravity
Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials

Research centres:
Centre for Synthetic Biology
Centre for Systems Biology
Centre for Systems Chemistry
Information Technology for Healthy Aging and E-Health Lab (ITHAL)

University College Groningen

Research programmes and areas:
Healthy Ageing
Sustainable Society

Last modified:12 June 2018 10.44 a.m.