Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research GELIFES

First NWO Stairway to Impact Award awarded to Theunis Piersma

02 December 2020

Theunis Piersma has been awarded the first Stairway to Impact Award, one of five new Science Awards introduced by NWO. The winners are seen by the jury as an inspiration in the fields of social impact, team science, role model, diversity and communication. The Stairway to Impact Award has been won by three researchers who have taken innovative steps in increasing societal impact: Professor Theunis Piersma (RUG/NIOZ), Dr Kateřina Staňková (MU) and Dr Chris Slootweg (UvA). Each researcher will receive €50,000 to spend on further steps promoting this impact and knowledge application.

Theunis Piersma creatively combined his life sciences research with computer sciences in order to study the behaviour and movement of migrating birds, by using satellites. He employs an interdisciplinary approach, working with researchers from the life, earth and computer sciences. The location of these birds yields important information with which to study and counteract global problems such as climate change and biodiversity loss. He has a clear vision of the future and is strongly committed to policy changes aimed at averting species extinction and slowing climate change. Piersma has studied migrating birds his whole life, and strives to raise awareness and protect these birds; this has made him a source of inspiration to others.

For more information see the press release on NWO's website.

Last modified:03 December 2020 12.26 a.m.

More news

  • 04 February 2021

    Molecule from nature provides fully recyclable polymers

    Plastics are among the most successful materials of modern times. However, they also create a huge waste problem. Scientists from the University of Groningen (The Netherlands) and the East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) in...

  • 10 December 2020

    Aletta Jacobs Chairs: 15 female professors appointed

    On International Women’s Day this spring, Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga announced that the UG would be creating 15 new chair positions for female professors, known as the Aletta Jacobs Chairs. Fifteen female professors will soon start their work...

  • 03 December 2020

    UG to award honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma

    On Friday 22 January 2021, the University of Groningen (UG) will award an honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma. The former CEO of DSM will be presented with his honorary doctorate by Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga during the special Nobel...