Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences Research Epidemiology Research units
University Medical Center Groningen

Medical Statistics and decision making

Mission

To develop and apply statistical and machine learning methods for analyzing ever-larger and complex data in collaboration with epidemiological and clinical researchers.

Content

Our research focuses on developing methods for statistical modeling in clinical and epidemiological studies and analyzing large cohort data. We also develop decision analysis techniques to support benefit-risk assessments of medicines and medical decision-making. In addition to these research activities, our unit teaches statistical methods to undergraduate and postgraduate students through a range of basic and advanced courses. We provide statistical support to other researchers through the Clinical Research Office and through short- and long-term collaborations with various clinical departments in the UMCG.

Senior staff

Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Gerton Lunter Full Professor, unit chair g.a.lunter umcg.nl Statistics and Machine Learning
Hans Hillege Full Professor h.hillege umcg.nl Clinical Epidemiology
Sacha la Bastide Assistant professor s.la.bastide umcg.nl Causal Inference
Hans Burgerhof Lecturer j.g.m.burgerhof umcg.nl Teaching; study design
Douwe Postmus Senior researcher d.postmus umcg.nl Medical decision making
Kata Tamasi Statistical Consultant k.tamasi umcg.nl Medical Statistics
Daan Reid Software engineer d.reid umcg.nl Decision Support Systems
Joris de Keijser Software engineer j.j.de.keijser umcg.nl

Decision Support Systems

Karlis Zalite Software developer k.zalite umcg.nl

Decision Support Systems

PhD fellows Collaboration
Yuntao Chen Advanced survival analysis techniques y.chen umcg.nl Advanced survival analysis techniques
Darlene Huisenga

Developmental Neurology, Pediatrics, UMCG

d.c.huisenga umcg.nl

Developmental outcomes of infants born with severecongenital heart disorder

Sonia Roldan Munoz Clinical pharmacy & pharmacology s.roldan.munoz umcg.nl Preference heterogenety in regulatory benefit-risk assessment
Klazien de Vries Mathematics, Oncology k.de.vries umcg.nl Improved survival analysis using machine learning
Aïda Baxhaku

Re-design of the study data import process of the ADDIS software

Last modified:01 June 2022 3.31 p.m.