Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Medical Statistics and decision making

Mission

The development, improvement and dissemination of advanced statistical methodology as well as applications in clinical and epidemiological research.

Content

The unit’s research activities focus on methods concerning statistical modeling and medical decision support. Emphasis is on longitudinal and time-to-event analyses, as well as on causal inference techniques. These are also central topics in the research programme Life Course Epidemiology.  Another research focus  is on decision analysis techniques to support benefit-risk assessments of medicines.

We feel responsible for the statistical education at the UMCG. In basic and advanced courses, we teach statistical methods to students and postgraduate students. In addition to methodological research and teaching, the unit collaborates with other units of the Department of Epidemiology, as well as with various clinical departments in the UMCG. In joint research projects we offer tailor-made statistics for medical research and provide statistical support in the design and analysis of clinical studies.

New Course 2019/2020

Help! Statistics! Lunch Lectures

Senior staff

Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Hans Hillege Full Professor h.hillege umcg.nl Clinical Epidemiology
Sacha la Bastide Assistant professor s.la.bastide umcg.nl Causal Inference
Hans Burgerhof Lecturer j.g.m.burgerhof umcg.nl Teaching; study design
Douwe Postmus Senior researcher d.postmus umcg.nl Medical decision making
Daan Reid Software engineer d.reid umcg.nl Evidence syntheses
Nick Veeger Senior Researcher n.veeger umcg.nl Clinical trial methods
Joris de Keijser Software developer j.j.de.keijser umcg.nl
Karlis Zalite Software developer k.zalite umcg.nl

PhD fellows Collaboration
May Angsupaisal Developmental Neurology, Pediatrics The effect of specific support during sitting on reaching and grasping in children with cerebral palsy.
Merel van den Broek Medical Center Leeuwarden Outcomes after batriatic surgery
Tammo Brouwer Medical Center Leeuwarden Anesthesia
Yuntao Chen Advanced survival analysis techniques Advanced survival analysis techniques
Jasper van Miert Hematology Optimal anticoagulation therapy
Chao Pang Bioshare c.pang umcg.nl Biobank data integration
Annette van Ojik Medical Center Leeuwarden In-hospital anticoagulation
Karlijn van Donkelaar Neurochirurgie UMCG c.e.van.donkelaar umcg.nl Subarachnoid hemorrhage
Sonia Roldan Munoz Clinical pharmacy & pharmacology s.roldan.munoz umcg.nl Preference heterogenety in regulatory benefit-risk assessment
Solomon Ioannou Machine learning techniques for predictive analytics s.ioannou umcg.nl General Practice and Elderly Care Medicine

Last modified:19 September 2019 4.29 p.m.