Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences Research Epidemiology Research and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  • CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants
  • Candidate gene & genomewide association studies
  • Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Harold Snieder

Full professor, head unit

h.snieder umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of cardiometabolic disease
Ilja Nolte Senior researcher i.m.nolte umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Jana van Vliet-Ostaptchouk Post-doc/Endocrinology j.v.van.vliet umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of obesity & type 2 diabetes
Peter v.d. Most Post-doc p.j.van.der.most umcg.nl Psychiatry, Nephrology
Ahmad Vaez Post-doc a.vaez umcg.nl Bioinformatics and Post-GWAS analyses
Jelle Vehof Research fellow/Ophthalmology j.vehof umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of eye disease
PhD fellows
Azmeraw Amare Psychiatry a.t.amare umcg.nl From genome-wide pleiotropy to prediction modeling of depression
Nigus Asefa Ophtalmology n.g.asefa umcg.nl Heritability of eye diseases
Yldau van der Ende Cardiology m.y.van.der.ende umcg.nl New insights in (unrecognized) myocardial infarction
Anna Leonte Opthalmology, UMCG

The gene, the eye and the brain

Xueling Lu Endocrinology x.lu umcg.nl

Association between (epi)genetic determinants of type 2 diabetes and body burden of endocrine disruption chemicals.

Tengfei Man Merck, Beijing, China t.man umcg.nl

Heart rate variability and blood pressure regulation

Anna Neustaeter

Ophthalmology

a.neustaeter umcg.nl

Glaucoma screening driven by genetic and other risk factors

Katri Pärna

University of Tartu, Estonia k.parna umcg.nl

Prediction models for type 2 diabetes

Parinaz Poursafa University of Isfahan, Iran p.poursafa umcg.nl Metabolic syndrome: the neglected role of airpollution
Sophie Riesmeijer Plastic Surgery, UMCG s.a.riesmeijer umcg.nl

Genetics of Dupuytren’s disease

Balewgizie Tegegne Psychiatry, Vascular Medicine b.s.tegegne umcg.nl Genetic and environmental influences on heart rate variability and its association with hypertension
Chris Thio

Nephrology, Health sciences

c.h.l.thio umcg.nl

Socio-Economic Status, Genetic predisposition and the risk of chronic kidney diseases

Bin Wang Beijing University, China b.wang umcg.nl

Genetic and environmental influences on cardoimetabolic risk

Rujia Wang Psychiatry r.wang umcg.nl Shared genetic and environmental influences on major depressive disorder, anxiety disorder, obesity and substance use disorder.
Eliza Walaszczyk RIVM, Endocrinology e.walaszczyk umcg.nl Epigenetics and the development of type 2 diabetes
Tian Xie Lifestyle medicine, UMCG t.xie umcg.nl Early (epi)genetic and environmental origins of obesity and hypertension
Last modified:30 July 2020 11.27 a.m.