Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Digestive system diseases

Mission:
To conduct methodologically oriented multidisciplinary collaborative research into the occurrence and universal determinants ( causal , predictive and prognostic ) of Digestive System health and diseases .

Methods:
We undertake epidemiological such as observational ( cross sectional , longitudinal , consortium ), or experimental ( clinical RCTs ) and basic studies by implementing epidemiological , genetic epidemiological , and functional methods.

Teaching:
We contribute to integrative master and PhD training programs, including Bachelor, Master, PhD and Post-Doc, and MD-PhD trajectories which consisting of (i) Research, (ii) Objective learning, and (iii) Skills development.

Setting:
Department of Epidemiology , UMCG , Groningen, The Netherlands.

Assets:
The LifeLines Cohort Study and Bio-bank ; IBD Cohorts; NAFLD/NASH Cohorts, Achalasia Cohort; AIH Cohorts; Partner to several International Consortia,

STAFF
Name Function/collaboration contact Topic
Behrooz Z. Alizadeh

Assistant professor, unit chair

b.z.alizadeh umcg.nl Health and disease of digestive system and inflammation
Ali Abbasi Senior researcher a.abbasi umcg.nl Causal inference and prognostic modeling
Atiqul Islam Post doc a.islam umcg.nl Statistics, analysis of complex data

FELLOWS
Name Position/collaboration contact Topic
Shifteh Abedian Research fellow s.abedian umcg.nl

Pharmacogenetic factors in the course of diabetes and inflammatory bowel diseases

Reza Abdollahi PhD fellow m.abdollahi umcg.nl The disease course in autoimmune hepatitis
Marzyeh Amini PhD fellow m.amini umcg.nl To dissect endo phenotype efect in association of genetype to phenotype in complex diseases
S. Farhang PhD fellow Predictors of the outcome of first episode psychosis in the Iranian ARAS-cohort
Mahmudul Huq PhD fellow mahhuq gmail.com

Neural network analysis to dissect underlying genetic link between IBD and schizophrenia

Neda Khalilian Gastroenterology/Dermatology n.khalilian.ekrami umcg.nl Comorbidity of skin diseases in IBD

Fareeba Sheedfar

Post doctoral fellow

Diet and nutrition in health and diseases of the liver

Mohammad Abdollahi Research fellow m.abdollahi umcg.nl

The disease

Sara Moazzen Research fellow s.moazzen umcg.nl Diet in gastro-intestinal cancer
Elnaz Naderi MSc/Radiotherapy e.naderi umcg.nl

Predictive models in cancer: a meta rado-genomics study

Vera Peters Research fellow v.peters umcg.nl

The (non)sense of dietary measures for a healthy and diseased gut

Kim van der Sloot Research fellow k.w.j.van.der.sloot umcg.nl

Exposome-genome interaction in the development and course of inflammatory bowel disease

Tesfa Habtewold PhD fellow/Psychiatry t.d.habtewold umcg.nl Latent class analyses to distinguish subgroups in hetero-geneous outcomes and its associated genetic factors
Lyan Rodijk PhD fellow/Liver transplantation l.h.rodijk umcg.nl The traject and outcome of psycho-motor de velopment in bilary artresia
Natalia Tiles-Sar PhD fellow/Psychiatry n.tilles-sar umcg.nl Causes and courses of social recovery in psychosis

Last modified:19 September 2019 4.49 p.m.