Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Twelve Groningen science and engineering students win national Young Talent Award

30 November 2021

On Monday November 29, twelve UG students of the Faculty of Science and Engineering were presented with a Young Talent Award by the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) d uring an online ceremony. The prizes are for the advancement of higher scientific education in the fields of science and engineering and are made available by businesses, foundations, and funds in the respective fields.

Eight first-year Bachelor’s students won a Young Talent Incentive Award of EUR 500. They are the best first-year student of the Netherlands in their field, with the highest average score of their year:

Bachelor’s student


Made possible by

Daan Bijker

Incentive award Pharmacy or (bio)pharmaceutical sciences


Fabienne Burkard

Incentive award Chemical Engineering


Daniel Cortild

Incentive award Mathematics and technical mathematics


Channa Dias Perera

Incentive award Informatics and technical informatics


Natalia Koscelanská

Incentive award Physics and technical physics

Stichting Physica

Alexander Lenze

Incentive award Chemistry


Cole Onorati

Incentive award Technology for Healthcare Solutions


Mihai Simioniuc

Incentive award Biology

Enza Zaden

Four Master’s students of the Faculty of Science and Engineering won a Young Talent Graduation Award:

Maaike Los

2nd prize KNVI/KIVI Thesis Prizes for Informatics and Information Science, for her master thesis ‘Choosing Fair Committees and Budgets: Proportionality in Multi-Winner Elections and Participatory Budgeting’ | EUR 1,000

Ewoud Wempe

De Zeeuw-Van Dishoeck Graduation Award for Astronomy, for his master thesis ‘High-precision localisation of gravitationally lensed gravitational waves’ | EUR 3,000

Tim de Wild

1st prize Shell Graduation Awards for Physics, for his master thesis ‘Secondary Non-Gaussianities in the 21-Centimeter Signal during the Dark Ages’ | EUR 3,000

Marnix Wiechers

3rd prize Shell Graduation Awards for Physics, for his master thesis ‘Investigating the Efficiency Losses in Cs2AgBiBr6 Perovskite Solar Cells. Simulated and Experimental Device Architecture Optimisation.’ | EUR 1,000

Every year, the KHMW takes care of the independent judging and award ceremony.

Last modified:01 December 2021 12.38 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news