Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

UG honorary doctorate awarded to Feike Sijbesma in Martinikerk

22 January 2021

The University of Groningen (UG) has awarded an honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma, former CEO of DSM, in the Martinikerk in Groningen. Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga presented the doctorate alongside Peter Verhoef, dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics. Former secretary-general of the UN Ban Ki-moon visited the award ceremony online and offered his congratulations. The award ceremony is part of the Climate Adaptation week, that is organized from Groningen through 25 January.

Societal engagement

Sijbesma has been awarded the UG honorary doctorate as a result of his significant societal engagement as one of the ‘captains of industry’ in the Netherlands. His thorough efforts regarding climate issues and sustainability in particular make him a valuable honorary doctor. He has played an important role in sustainability processes within DSM and he has used his voice to stress the importance of societal engagement of multinationals. The UG supports these causes and tries to be involved. Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga: ‘I see the awarding of an honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma during the Climate Adaptation Week as the organic cherry on top of the sustainable cake.’ Read here the full laudatio from prof Peter Verhoef.

Read more about Sijbesma’s honorary doctorate on the UG website.

Photo’s by Elmer Spaargaren

Last modified:28 March 2023 12.24 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 10 June 2024

    Swarming around a skyscraper

    Every two weeks, UG Makers puts the spotlight on a researcher who has created something tangible, ranging from homemade measuring equipment for academic research to small or larger products that can change our daily lives. That is how UG...

  • 24 May 2024

    Lustrum 410 in pictures

    Lustrum 410 in pictures: A photo report of the lustrum 2024

  • 21 May 2024

    Results of 2024 University elections

    The votes have been counted and the results of the University elections are in!