Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Gerrit Krol Award prize ceremony on Wednesday 12 June

Three students nominated for first ever Dutch-language academic essay award
05 June 2019

The entries for the first edition of the Gerrit Krol Award have been submitted and the jury has deliberated. On 12 June, they will announce the very first winner of the essay award. The three nominees are Takashi Nakamura, Yasmine Finani and Zito Ysenbaert. The University of Groningen Language Centre is delighted to invite you to this festive ceremony.

Date: Wednesday 12 June 2019
Time: 4 to 6 p.m.
Location: The Aula of the University of Groningen Academy Building

Writer Fleur van der Beij will spice up the afternoon with a story about her experiences as a young and successful author, after which President of the Board of the University Jouke de Vries will announce the winning essay. The jury comprises writer Ellen Deckwitz, Ellen Krol, who is Gerrit Krol’s daughter, and lecturer at the UG Language Centre and writer Ronald Ohlsen. The winner will then read their essay, after which all attendees can stay for drinks and snacks and discuss the winning essay further.

The three nominated students have each applied the theme of inclusiveness in their own unique way. They have all used the Dutch language in a beautiful way to express their personal vision. In all three texts, form and content were combined to make for very convincing essays, which will spur the reader to contemplation and even stimulate them to take action. All jury members were very enthusiastic about these entries and the committee is delighted that the very first edition of the Gerrit Krol Award has already attracted such talented writers.

For more information please contact:

  • UG spokesperson Jorien Bakker, tel. 06-11800452
  • Jury member Ronald Ohlsen, tel. 06-15477566
Gerrit Krol Award
Last modified:16 August 2019 3.01 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news