Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

University of Groningen Aart Bosman Award to Folkert Nobels

12 July 2017

At the summer ceremony on 7 July, Folkert Nobels was declared the winner of the Aart Bosman Student Excellence award . The annual summer ceremony puts talented students and researchers of the University of Groningen in the spotlight. It is also the occasion where the winners of the GUF-100 Awards, the PhD Award and next year’s international UG Alumni Ambassadors are revealed.

To the best University of Groningen student

The Aart Bosman Student Excellence Award was first presented in 2009, in honour of the establishment of the University of Groningen Honours College. The winner is chosen from the winners of the GUF-100. Winners of the Award are usually students who distinguish themselves by engaging in extracurricular activities besides achieving brilliant study results.

This year's winner, Folkert Nobels, completed both his Bachelor’s degree programmes, in Physics and Astronomy, cum laude. In addition, he pursued the Bachelor’s Honours Programme. Folkert is currently pursuing two Master’s degree programmes, again in Physics and Astronomy. His marks are even higher now, possibly leading to two summa cum laude graduations. In between, Folkert also founded an international student association for astronomy students, and he works as a volunteer at the Blaauw Observatory and in the ‘Youth Work Group for Astronomy’.

Winners of the 2017 GUF-100 Awards

The GUF-100 Awards for excellent students were first presented in 1993, on the occasion of the Centenary of the Groningen University Fund (GUF). Each GUF-100 Award consists of a monetary prize of EUR 2500.

The winners of the 2017 GUF-100 Awards are:
Antje Bieberstein (Faculty of Spatial Sciences), Annika Raschen (Faculty of Arts), Joris Graff (Faculty of Philosophy), Folkert Nobels (Faculty of Science and Engineering), Iris van der Heijden (Faculty of Economics and Business), Bertram Loth (Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences), Bernice Brijan (Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies), Edwin van der Velden (Faculty of Law), Lisette van Os (Faculty of Medical Sciences) and Jacky Yueije Wang (University College).

Pictures: Gerhard Taatgen

Last modified:20 April 2020 12.08 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 04 March 2024

    A plant-based sensor

    Every two weeks, UG Makers puts the spotlight on a researcher who has created something tangible, ranging from homemade measuring equipment for academic research to small or larger products that can change our daily lives. That is how UG...

  • 11 December 2023

    Join the 'Language and AI' community

    As a part of the Jantina Tammes School, the 'Language and AI' theme is an interdisciplinary initiative that aims to encourage collaboration among academics, PhD candidates, students, and industry representatives who share a keen interest in the...

  • 13 October 2023

    Moniek Tromp appointed Captain of Science of the Top Sector Chemistry

    Prof. Moniek Tromp has been appointed Captain of Science of the Chemistry Top Sector by the Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy. As from 1 July 2023, she succeeded Prof. Bert Weckhuysen from Utrecht University.