Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research The Groningen Research Institute for the Study of Culture (ICOG) Education

National research schools

The national research schools handle part of the training provided to PhD students and also maintain their own research programme. The research institutes of the Faculty of Arts participate in local and national research schools. Each research school has a Director and a Scientific Advisory Board and is governed by one the participating faculties, which functions as secretary (penvoerder).

The national research schools, united in the Council of Dutch Research Schools in the Humanities (LOGOS), have been acknowledged by the Council of Deans in Arts and Humanities (Disciplineoverleg Letteren en Geesteswetenschappen, DLG). The quality of the educational programme and the research performed is assessed during the governing institution’s research evaluation.

ICOG participates in the Research School for Medieval Studies, in the national research school for Classical Studies OIKOS, in the N.W. Posthumus Instituut, in the national Research School for Art History (OSK), in the Research School for  Political History (Onderzoeksschool Politieke Geschiedenis), the Research School for for Media Studies (RMeS), in the Huizinga Instituut and the Netherlands Institute of Cultural Analysis (NICA). ICOG is secretary of the Research School for Literary Studies (OSL).

Last modified:24 January 2024 09.49 a.m.