Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences Research Epidemiology Research units
University Medical Center Groningen

Oncological Epidemiology

Mission

To contribute to an improvement of early detection of cancer and a better quality of life for patients with cancer.

Content

Our unit studies the early detection of cancer and evaluation of health-related quality of life after cancer. To assess and optimize screening strategies, we identify populations at risk for cancer using systematic literature reviews, analyses of cohorts and cancer registries, and modeling. We study not only the benefits of screening, but also the negative effects of over-diagnosis, tumor-induction, and false-positive results. A UMCG oncology data biobank, OncoLifeS, was initiated to evaluate outcomes after cancer in a systematic way.

Senior staff
Name Title and collaboration E-mail address Topic
Truuske de Bock

Full professor

Unit chair

g.h.de.bock umcg.nl Screening and follow-up
Boukje van Dijk Senior researcheri n collaboration with Comprehensive Cancer Organisation b.a.c.van.dijk umcg.nl

Head and neck oncology

Monique Dorrius

m.d.dorrius umcg.nl Lung and cancer screening
Marjolein Heuvelmans Senior researcher m.a.heuvelmans umcg.nl Lung and cander screening
Janny Nagel Project coordinator j.nagel umcg.nl OncoLifeS data biobank
Grigory Sidorenkov Post-doc collaboration with Radiology g.sidorenkov umcg.nl Screening on lung cancer
Gijs Landman Senior Researcher g.w.d.landman umcg.nl Cancer in diabetes
Petra Vinke Researcher p.vinke umcg.nl Quality of life after immunotherapy
Marleen Vonder Senior Researcher m.vonder umcg.nl Lung cander and cardiac screening
PhD Fellows
Jiali Cai Radiology UMCG j.cai umcg.nl Lung nodules and lung cancer screening
Melisa Castaneda Vanegas Pathology, UMCG Cervical cancer screening
Francisco Omar Cortes Ibañez Unam, Mexico f.o.cortes.ibanez umcg.nl Preventable factors in cancer
Lilu Ding l.ding@umcg.nl Breast cancer screening
Jing Du Langerhans Medical Research Group, Zwolle j.du umcg.nl Cancer in Diabetes patients
Yihui Du Dept. Radiology y.du umcg.nl Lung cancer screening
Nienke te Grootenhuis Dept of Oncological Gynaecology n.c.te.grootenhuis umcg.nl Predictors for Local recurrent disease in patients with vulva cancer
Jacobien Hilberdink Dept of Hematology, UMCG j.r.hilberdink umcg.nl

Decitabine in the treatment of AML

Leonie Jonker Dept. of Oncological Surgery l.t.jonker umcg.nl Home monitoring after surgery
Emiel Kop Dept. Head and neck oncology and pathology e.a.kop umcg.nl Predictors in Laryngeal cancer
Maleen Leimkühler Oncological Surgery m.leimkuhler umcg.nl Peritoneal carcinomatosis in colorectal cancer
Saskia Maass Dept. General practice s.w.m.c.maass umcg.nl Long term depression and anxiety in breast cancer
Yifei Mao Radiology, UMCG y.mao umcg.nl

Evaluation in lung cancer screening

Daan van den Oever Dept of Radiology l.b.van.den.oever umcg.nl

Machine learning and cardiovascular disease

Mathijs Plas Dept. of Oncological Surgery m.plas umcg.nl Inflammation after treatment for cancer in elderly
Nadia Sadok Dept. of Oncological Surgery n.sadok umcg.nl Breast reconstructions
Anniek Stuursma Dept. of Gynaecology a.stuursma umcg.nl Preventive oophorectomy
Jolien de Waard Pathology, UMCG j.de.waard01 umcg.nl cervical cancer screening
Jing Wang Tianjin j.wang umcg.nl The optimal screenng for breast cancin China
Linda Weerink Dept. of Oncological Surgery l.b.m.weerink umcg.nl Sarcopenie as predictor for outcome after surgical oncology
Rik Wisselink Dept. of Radiology h.j.wisselink umcg.nl

CT biomarkers for emphysema

Xiaofei Yang Radiology, UMCG x. yang umcg.nl COPD and lung nodules in screening
Fan Zhang f.zhang umcg.nl Breast cancer and diabetes
Senshuang Zheng Dept of Radioloy, UMCG, Epidemiology s.zheng02 umcg.nl Colon cancer screening
Aniek Zwart Head and Neck Oncology, Radiology, UMCG a.t.zwart umcg.nl

Skeletal muscle mass as predictor of outcome in head and neck cancers

Last modified:01 June 2022 3.31 p.m.