Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Lifestyle medicine in obesity & diabetes

Mission

Conducting human observational and intervention studies to investigate the impact of lifestyle, physical activity and nutrition on obesity and cardiometabolic health.

Assets

Cohorts

- GECKO Drenthe birth cohort (www.geckodrenthe.umcg.nl)

- LifeLines (www.Lifelines.nl)

Research in physical activity

  • Physical activity and activity patterns in relation to the development of obesity (GECKO Drenthe cohort NL, PATH study China, Dutch Twin cohort)
  • Physical activity and the development of cardiometabolic diseases, including fatty liver, type 2 diabetes, metabolic syndrome and cardiovascular disease (LifeLines cohort, PREVEND cohort, TRAILS cohort)

Research in nutrition

  • To develop a score for diet quality (together with prof. D. Kromhout, prof. G. Navis) in adults and children
  • Diet quality and dietary patterns in relation to the development of obesity (GECKO Drenthe cohort)

Lifestyle interventions

  • Active Care after Transplantation: lifestyle intervention after renal transplantation ( https://www.act-studie.nl/ )

Senior staff
Name Title e-mail address Topic
Eva Corpeleijn (unit chair) Associate professor e.corpeleijn umcg.nl Lifestyle and metabolism
Daan Kromhout Professor d.kromhout umcg.nl Nutrition
Marloes Cardol Data manage m.cardol umcg.nl Gecko Drenthe cohorts
PhD fellows Collaboration
Oyuntugs ByamBasukh Mongolian Government, GSMS o.byambasukh umcg.nl Body composition and health over the life course
Silvia Brouwer In collaboration with Hanze University of Applied Sciences s.i.brouwer pl.hanze.nl Lifestyle in renal patients.
Gerald Klaassen Lifestyle in renal patients g.klaassen umcg.nl Lifestyle in renal patients
Congchao Lu In collaboration with Tianjin Medical University c.lu umcg.nl Physical activity and health in Chinese and Dutch children.
Anne Looijmans GGZ Friesland, RGoC a.looijmans umcg.nl Effects of lifestyle in psychiatry
Maryse Osté Nephrology m.c.j.oste umcg.nl Diet and health in kidney patients
Petra Vinke Nephrology p.c.vinke umcg.nl Dietary patterns and health
Rikstje Wiersma Movement Sciences r.wiersma umcg.nl Physical activity in young children
Last modified:18 September 2019 4.53 p.m.