Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  • CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants
  • Candidate gene & genomewide association studies
  • Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Harold Snieder

Full professor, head unit

h.snieder@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of cardiometabolic disease
Ilja Nolte Senior researcher i.m.nolte@umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Jana van Vliet-Ostaptchouk Post-doc/Endocrinology j.v.van.vliet@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of obesity & type 2 diabetes
Peter v.d. Most Post-doc p.j.van.der.most@umcg.nl Psychiatry, Nephrology
Ahmad Vaez Post-doc a.vaez@umcg.nl Bioinformatics and Post-GWAS analyses
Jelle Vehof Research fellow/Ophthalmology j.vehof@umcg.nl Ophthalmology
PhD fellows
Shifteh Abedian Digestive disease s.abedian@umcg.nl Methods in Pharmacogenetics
Azmeraw Amare Psychiatry a.t.amare@umcg.nl From genome-wide pleiotropy to prediction modeling of depression
Marzyeh Amini Digestive disease m.amini@umcg.nl Mendelian Randomization and inflammation
Nigus Asefa Ophtalmology n.g.asefa@umcg.nl Heritability of eye diseases
Yldau van der Ende Cardiology m.y.van.der.ende@umcg.nl New insights in (unrecognized) myocardial infarction
Chris Thio Nephrology, Health sciences c.h.l.thio@umcg.nl Socio-Economic Status, Genetic predisposition and the risk of chronic kidney diseases
Parinaz Poursafa University of Isfahan, Iran p.poursafa@umcg.nl Metabolic syndrome: the neglected role of airpollution
Arthur Sas MD-PhD student a.sas@umcg.nl The epidemiology of ageing and age-related pathology; biology and genetics unraveled
Balewgizie Tegegne Psychiatry, Vascular Medicine b.s.tegegne@umcg.nl Genetic and environmental influences on heart rate variability and its association with hypertension
Tengfei Man Merck, Beijing, China t.man@umcg.nl Heart rate variability and blood pressure regulation
Anna Neustaeter Ophthalmology a.neustaeter@umcg.nl Glaucoma screening driven by genetic and other risk factors
Renske Verweij Sociology r.verweij@rug.nl Understanding childlessnes
Eliza Walaszczyk RIVM, Endocrinology e.walaszczyk@umcg.nl Epigenetics and the development of type 2 diabetes
Bin Wang Beijing University, China b.wang@umcg.nl Genetic and environmental influences on cardoimetabolic risk
Tian Xie t.xie@umcg.nl Early (epi)genetic and environmental origins of obesity and hypertension
Last modified:07 August 2018 10.34 a.m.