Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences Research Epidemiology Research and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Oncological Epidemiology

The unit Oncological Epidemiology has her focus on the screening on and improvement of outcomes after cancer.

The mission of the unit Oncological Epidemiology is to contribute to the discussion on early detection of cancer and to identify those patient groups that are at risk to develop side effects due to the treatment for cancer.
The research of our unit is about the early detection of cancer and the improvement of outcomes after cancer. To evaluate this in a systematic way, we set up an UMCG’s oncology databiobank OncoLifeS with quality of life as a main outcome. To assess and optimize screening strategies, we define which populations are at risk for cancer. We not only consider benefits of screening, but also the negative effects of over-diagnosis, tumor-induction, and false-positive results. Systematic literature reviews, analysis of cohorts and modeling are the most important methods we use.

Mission

To contribute to an improvement of early detection of cancer and a better quality of life for patients with cancer.

Assets

Patient series, OncoLifeS

Contribution to guideline development (breast cancer and hereditary ovarian cancer)

Since 2019 the following PhDs has been defended:

Liselotte Boerman. Long-term cardiovascular effects of breast cancer treatment. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2020.

Dennis Schrijnders. Oral glucose lowering agents and cancer in type 2 diabetes mellitus: focus on sulphonylurea derivatives. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2019.

Marco Versluis. Immunological, molecular and therapeutic mechanisms in endometrial cancer. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2019

Jorien Woolderink. Gynaecological malignancies in Lynch Syndrome: surveillance and cancer characteristics. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2019.

Timco Koopman, HER2 and Ki67 in solid tumors. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2019.

Catheleine van Driel. Risk reducing surgery: uptake and menopausal consequences. Groningen: Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, 2019.

Senior staff
Name Title and collaboration E-mail address Topic
Truuske de Bock

Full professor

Unit chair

g.h.de.bock umcg.nl Screening and follow-up
Boukje van Dijk Senior researcheri n collaboration with Comprehensive Cancer Organisation b.a.c.van.dijk umcg.nl

Head and neck oncology

Monique Dorrius

m.d.dorrius umcg.nl Lung and cancer screening
Marjolein Heuvelmans Senior researcher m.a.heuvelmans umcg.nl Lung and cander screening
Janny Nagel Project coordinator j.nagel umcg.nl OncoLifeS
Grigory Sidorenkov Post-doc collaboration with Radiology g.sidorenkov umcg.nl Screening on lung cancer
Gijs Landman Senior Researcher g.w.d.landman umcg.nl Cancer in diabetes
Petra Vinke Researcher p.vinke umcg.nl Outcomes in immunotherapy
Marleen Vonder Senior Researcher m.vonder umcg.nl Lung cander and cardiac screening
PhD Fellows
Justine Briët Dept. Oncological Gynaecology j.m.briet umcg.nl Laparoscopy in endometrial cancer
Jiali Cai Radiology UMCG j.cai umcg.nl Lung cancer screening
Kelly Melissa Castanede Venegas Pathology, UMCG Cervical cancer screening
Francisco Omar Cortes Ibañez Unam, Mexico f.o.cortes.ibanez umcg.nl Modifiable determinants of cancer
Lilu Ding l.ding@umcg.nl Breast cancer screening
Jing Du Langerhans Medical Research Group, Zwolle j.du umcg.nl Cancer in Diabetes patients
Yihui Du Dept. Radiology y.du umcg.nl Lung cancer screening
Yassir Eltahir Dept. of Plastic Surgery y.eltahir umcg.nl Breast reconstruction
Nienke te Grootenhuis Dept of Oncological Gynaecology n.c.te.grootenhuis umcg.nl Local recurrence in vulva cancer
Jacobien Hilberdink Dept of Hematology, UMCG j.r.hilberdink umcg.nl

Decitabine in the treatment of AML

Leonie Jonker Dept. of Oncological Surgery l.t.jonker umcg.nl Home monitoring after surgery
Emiel Kop Dept. Head and neck oncology and pathology e.a.kop umcg.nl Predictors in Laryngeal cancer
Ellen Lammerink Dept. Oncological Gynaecology e.a.g.lammerink umcg.nl Sexual outcomes after gynecological cancers
Maleen Leimkühler Oncological Surgery m.leimkuhler umcg.nl Peritoneal carcinomatosis in colorectal cancer
Saskia Maass Dept. General practice s.w.m.c.maass umcg.nl Long term outcome in breast cancer
Linda de Munck Dutch Cancer Registry l.de.munck umcg.nl Population screening in breast cancer
Daan van den Oever Dept of Radiology l.b.van.den.oever umcg.nl

Machine learning and cardiovascular disease

Mathijs Plas Dept. of Oncological Surgery m.plas umcg.nl Inflammation after treatment for cancer in elderly
Nadia Sadok Dept. of Oncological Surgery n.sadok umcg.nl Lung cancer screening
Fabian van der Sluis Dept. of Oncological Surgery f.j.van.der.sluis umcg.nl Predictors of outcome in surgical oncology
Anniek Stuursma Dept. of Gynaecology a.stuursma umcg.nl Menopausal symptoms after RRSO
Jolien de Waard Pathology, UMCG j.de.waard01 umcg.nl cervical cancer screening
Jing Wang Tianjin j.wang umcg.nl Breast cancer screening
Linda Weerink Dept. of Oncological Surgery l.b.m.weerink umcg.nl Sarcopenie as predictor for outcome after surgical oncology
Rik Wisselink Dept. of Radiology h.j.wisselink umcg.nl

CT biomarkers emphysema

Xiafei Yang Radiology, UMCG x. yang umcg.nl Lung cancer screening
Senshuang Zheng Dept of Radioloy, UMCG, Epidemiology s.zheng02 umcg.nl Colon cancer screening
Aniek Zwart Head and Neck Oncology, Radiology, UMCG a.t.zwart umcg.nl

Skeletal muscle mass as predictor of outcome in head and neck cancers

Last modified:13 August 2020 4.48 p.m.