Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies Calendar

Book presentation: Funerary Practices in the Netherlands

When:Th 28-01-2021
Where:Online

In collaboration with the Centre for Religion, Health and Wellbeing the CRCG invites you to our upcoming book presentation!

Dr Claudia Venhorst and Dr Brenda Mathijssen, also known as the Sisters of Death, have studied funerary practices in the Netherlands for nearly a decade. Join them on the 28th of January, 16.00 CET (15.00 GMT/10.00 EST) to hear about their new book Funerary Practices in the Netherlands, in which they describe funeral, burial and cremation practices since the 19th century, and discuss recent developments such as natural burial and increasing religious diversity. During the Webinar they will be in conversation with Dr Julie Rugg (University of York), who is the editor of the wider Funerary International and Routledge International Focus on Death and Funeral Practices book series, and Dr Julia Martinez-Ariño (CRCG Fellow). Dr. Rugg will also tell you all how and why she started a book series on international death practices. Of course, there will be plenty of time for your questions and for discussion.

We are looking forward to see you there! The event takes place via Nestor Collaborate. Please register via crcg rug.nl to receive the link to the session.