Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Profile Internationalization


Student and staff exchanges form an important part of the internationalization policy. The University of Groningen aims for half of all its students to have gained experience abroad during their studies. To achieve this goal the University provides additional funding through Marco Polo grants for mobility outside of the EU.


Erasmus+ is the European programme providing financial support for students to study abroad or persue an internship within the EU and EEA. The scholarship is a partial scholarship, meant to cover additional costs e.g. insurance, visa, travel, or higher living costs in the host country.

Policy information and  Information for students (internal).

Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility (ICM)

ICM offers grants to university students to study for a semester or a year at selected universities outside the EU as part of their degree. Short teaching or training visits by university staff are also funded through this programme. The ICM grants can be also awarded to students and staff from partner countries coming to the Netherlands. Further information.

Marco Polo

The University of Groningen provides additional funding to students who wish to study at our partner Universities, which are not part of the Erasmus+ network. Marco Polo scholarships are avaible for a study abroad period of 3 to 12 months and support exchange cooperation with our partners around the world. Information for Students (internal).

At the University of Groningen opportunities for studying abroad vary depending on a faculty. To find out more about exchange opportunities, please check your Faculty Exchange Office information available for UG students on the intranet, or you contact the relevant exchange office by email.

Faculty Contact details
Faculty of Economics and Business exchange.out.feb
Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences exchange.gmw
Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies internationaloffice.thrs
Faculty of Arts exchange.out.arts
Faculty of Law exchangelaw
Faculty of Spatial Sciences p.j.m.van.steen
Faculty of Philosophy
Faculty of Science and Engineering
University Medical Center Groningen owi-international
University College Groningen exchange.ucg
Campus Fryslân i.a.luna.arteaga
Last modified:13 March 2020 12.51 a.m.