Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation

Career Services

Career Services Current

The Falling Walls Lab Groningen 2015 announced its winners

29 October 2015

The Falling Walls Lab Groningen brought together 13 young high-potentials and invited them to share their innovative ideas, social initiatives and research projects on 16 October 2015.

The University of Groningen's second Falling Walls Lab was again hosted at the Infoversum, the first full-dome 3D theater of the Netherlands. A distinguished jury made up of representatives from academia, the industry and policy-making selected the three most intriguing presentations. The top two presenters will pitch their work once more on the global stage of the Falling Walls Lab Finale in Berlin on 8 November. A representative of NEXT will travel with the winners to Berlin to support them during the global finale.

Meet the winners:

Lorenzo Massimo Polgar (Netherlands), University of Groningen - Breaking the Wall of Rubber Waste

Lorenzo wishes to recycle rubber. He believes that the use of reversible connections can help form an elastic rubber network, by which it will be made possible to reuse rubber materials for new applications.

Julius Schöning (Germany), University of Osnabrück - Breaking the Wall of Emotional Urbanism

Common maps are created for navigation only. Julius intends to give them human flavor – emotional color by creating a world map layer displaying the emotions people experience in places.

Meet the jury of academia and business:

Dr. Jennifer Jordan, Prof. Kees van Hummelen, Niek Huizinga, Edward van der Meer, Jan van der Oord, Prof. Hanny Elzinga and Maarten Hoekstra.

Meet the team of Falling Walls Lab Groningen:

Julian Ranft, Jantine Verver, Shanty Vriesema, Hoang Nguyen, Dr. Jennifer Jordan and Jochem Andriessen.

Last modified:29 November 2019 4.25 p.m.

More news

  • 08 July 2020

    Piekopvang in Groningen voorbereid voor internationale studenten

    Aan het einde van de zomer komen er naast veel Nederlandse studenten ook internationale studenten naar Groningen om voor kortere of langere tijd te studeren aan de Hanzehogeschool Groningen (HG) of de Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG). Vanwege de...

  • 01 July 2020

    Sander de Hosson elected Alumnus of the Year 2019

    Lung doctor Sander de Hosson has been elected Alumnus of the Year 2019 by the University of Groningen. He is receiving the award for the incisive way in which he calls for attention for the emotional side of palliative care and for making death a...

  • 01 July 2020

    Ymkje Anna de Vries wins Gratama Award

    The 2020 Gratama Science Award has been awarded to Dr Ymkje Anna de Vries of the Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences of the University of Groningen. De Vries followed degree programmes in the fields of neuroscience, clinical science and...