Research and Teaching

University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  - CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants

  - Candidate gene & genomewide association studies

  - Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Harold Snieder

Full professor

Unit chair

h.snieder@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of CVD, diabetes & obesity
Behrooz Alizadeh Assistant Professor

b.alizadeh@umcg.nl

Genetic Epidemiology
Peter Terpstra Assistant Professor p.terpstra@umcg.nl Molecular Bioinformatics
Ilja Nolte Post-doc i.m.nolte@umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Harriëtte Riese Post-doc h.riese@umcg.nl Psychiatric Genetic Epidemiology
Jana van Vliet Post-doc j.van.vliet@umcg.nl Genetics of obesity and type 2 diabetes
Junior staff
Shifteh AbedianPhD-fellow s.abedian@umcg.nl
Marzyeh AminiPhD-fellow m.amini@umcg.nl
Arthur SasMD-PhD student

a.sas@umcg.nl

Healthy aging and longevity
Bram Prins PhD fellow b.p.prins@umcg.nl Rare variants in common diseases
Ahmad Vaez PhD fellow a.vaez@umcg.nl Medical Bioinformatics
Jelle VehofResearch fellow j.vehof@umcg.nl genetic epidemiology of eye diseases
Loretto Munoz VenegasPhD fellow l.munoz.venegas@umcg.nl genetic epidemiology of heart rate variability
Bin WangPost-doc b.wang@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology and twin studies

Last modified:April 11, 2014 16:19