Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  • CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants
  • Candidate gene & genomewide association studies
  • Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Harold Snieder

Full professor

Unit chair

h.snieder@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of cardiometabolic disease
Ilja Nolte Post-doc i.m.nolte@umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Jana van Vliet Post-doc/Endocrinology j.v.van.vliet@umcg.nl Genetics of obesity and type 2 diabetes
Ahmad Vaez Post-doc a.vaez@umcg.nl
Jelle Vehof Research fellow/Ophthalmology j.vehof@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of eye disease
PhD fellows
Shifteh Abedian Digestive disease s.abedian@umcg.nl Methods in Pharmacogenetics
Azmeraw Amare Psychiatry/Public Health a.t.amare@umcg.nl Genetics of major depression
Marzyeh Amini m.amini@umcg.nl Mendelian Randomization in Genetic Epidemiology
Yldau van der Ende Cardiology m.y.van.der.ende@umcg.nl New insights in (unrecognized) myocardial infarction
Atiqul Islam Psychiatry, GROUP a.islam@umcg.nl Schizophrenia & statistical modeling
Chris Thio Nephrology, Health sciences c.h.l.thio@umcg.nl Socio-Economic Status, Genetic predisposition and the risk of chronic kidney diseases
Leanne Küpers Lifestyle Medicine l.k.kupers@umcg.nl Early life environmend and childhood growth/overweight
Bram Prins Genetics b.p.prins@umcg.nl Rare variants in common diseases
Peter v.d. Most Programmer p.j.van.der.most@umcg.nl Programming, statistical analyses
Arthur Sas MD-PhD student a.sas@umcg.nl Healthy aging and longevity
Felix Tropf Sociology f.tropf@rug.nl Is fertility in the genes?
Loretto Munoz Venegas Sultan Qaboos University, Oman l.munoz.venegas@umcg.nl Genetics of heart rate variability
Tengfei Man Merck, Beijing, China t.man@umcg.nl Heart rate variability and blood pressure regulation
Anna Neustaeter Ophthalmology a.neustaeter@umcg.nl Glaucoma screening driven by genetic and other risk factors
Renske Verweij Sociology r.verweij@rug.nl Genetics of childnesless
Eliza Walaszczyk e.walaszczyk@umcg.nl Epigenetics of type 2 diabetes
Bin Wang Beijing University, China b.wang@umcg.nl genetic epidemiology and twin studies
Last modified:15 August 2017 3.38 p.m.