Javascript must be enabled for the correct page display

Research and Teaching

University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  • CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants
  • Candidate gene & genomewide association studies
  • Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Name Function/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Harold Snieder

Full professor

Unit chair

h.snieder@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of cardiometabolic disease
Behrooz Alizadeh Assistant Professor b.alizadeh@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology
Peter v.d. MostProgrammer p.j.van.der.most@umcg.nl Programming, statistical analyses
Ilja Nolte Post-doc i.m.nolte@umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Harriëtte RiesePost-doc/ Interdisc. Center of Psychiatric Epidemiology h.riese@umcg.nl Psychiatric genetic epidemiology
Jana van Vliet Post-doc/Endocrinology j.v.van.vliet@umcg.nl Genetics of obesity and type 2 diabetes
Jelle VehofResearch fellow/Ophthalmology j.vehof@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of eye disease
PhD fellows
Shifteh Abedian s.abedian@umcg.nl Methods in Pharmacogenetics
Marzyeh Amini m.amini@umcg.nl Mendelian Randomization in Genetic Epidemiology
Atiqul IslamPsychiatry, GROUP a.islam@umcg.nl Schizophrrnia & statistical modeling
Omid JazayeriGenetics o.jazayeri@umcg.nl Next-generation (exome) sequencing in patients with microcephaly
Arthur SasPsychiatry a.sas@umcg.nl The epidemio
Loretto Munoz Venegas l.munoz.venegas@umcg.nl
Bram Prins Genetics b.p.prins@umcg.nl Rare variants in common diseases
Arthur SasMD-PhD student a.sas@umcg.nl Healthy aging and longevity
Ahmad Vaez a.vaez@umcg.nl Medical Bioinformatics
Bin WangBeijing University, China genetic epidemiology and twin studies
Last modified:August 21, 2014 11:08