Research and Teaching

University Medical Center Groningen

Genetic epidemiology

Mission

To develop a high quality research program investigating genetic and environmental influences on the etiology, prognosis and treatment of common chronic complex diseases.

Assets

  - CVD, T2D, obesity, psychosocial determinants

  - Candidate gene & genomewide association studies

  - Cohorts: Prevend, LifeLines, Trails, Nesda, Twins UK, Georgia CV Twin study

Senior staff
Name Fuction/collaboration e-mail address Topic
Harold Snieder

Full professor

Unit chair

h.snieder@umcg.nl Genetic Epidemiology of cardiometabolic disease
Behrooz Alizadeh Assistant Professor

b.alizadeh@umcg.nl

Genetic Epidemiology
Peter v.d. MostProgrammer

p.j.van.der.most@umcg.nl

Programming, statistical analyses
Ilja Nolte Post-doc i.m.nolte@umcg.nl Statistical Genetics
Harriëtte RiesePost-doc/ Interdisc. Center of Psychiatric Epidemiology h.riese@umcg.nl Psychiatric genetic epidemiology
Jana van Vliet Post-doc/Endocrinology j.v.van.vliet@umcg.nl Genetics of obesity and type 2 diabetes
Jelle VehofResearch fellow/Ophthalmology j.vehof@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology of eye disease
PhD fellows
Name Collaboration with e-mail address Topic
Shifteh Abedian s.abedian@umcg.nl Methods in Pharmacogenetics
Marzyeh Amini m.amini@umcg.nl Mendelian Randomization in Genetic Epidemiology
Atiqul IslamPsychiatry, GROUP a.islam@umcg.nl Schizophrrnia & statistical modeling
Omid JazayeriGenetics o.jazayeri@umcg.nl Next-generation (exome) sequencing in patients with microcephaly
Loretto Munoz Venegas l.munoz.venegas@umcg.nl
Bram Prins b.p.prins@umcg.nl Rare variants in common diseases
Arthur SasMD-PhD student

a.sas@umcg.nl

Healthy aging and longevity
Ahmad Vaez a.vaez@umcg.nl Medical Bioinformatics
genetic epidemiology of heart rate variability
Bin WangPost-doc b.wang@umcg.nl Genetic epidemiology and twin studies

Last modified:July 24, 2014 14:30