Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences News
University Medical Center Groningen

Tianjin Medical University visits Groningen

19 August 2016
Impression of the visit of the Tianjin Medical University delegation

On the 19th of August 2016 a delegation from the Tianjin Medical University (TMU) visited the University of Groningen and the University Medical Center Groningen.

The delegation was led by Professor Zhi Yao, Party Secretary of TMU, Professor Guowei Huang, Dean of the School of Public Health, Professor Lijun Zhang, Director, Director of the Department of International Exchange and Corporation, and Mr Jian Zhang.

The main purpose of this visit was to sign a new Memorandum of Understanding, to confirm the continuation of the long-lasting and much appreciated cooperation between TMU and Groningen, which already has a history of more than 25 years.

After signing the new cooperation agreement by Professor Yao from TMU, and Professor Sibrand Poppema , President of the University of Groningen, and Professor Erik Boddeke, Interim Dean of the Faculty of Medical Sciences/UMCG, the delegation visited the UMCG and discussed collaboration ideas and plans more in detail, both in medical research and education.

Last modified:22 September 2016 11.50 a.m.

More news

  • 01 July 2020

    Sander de Hosson elected Alumnus of the Year 2019

    Lung doctor Sander de Hosson has been elected Alumnus of the Year 2019 by the University of Groningen. He is receiving the award for the incisive way in which he calls for attention for the emotional side of palliative care and for making death a...

  • 01 July 2020

    Ymkje Anna de Vries wins Gratama Award

    The 2020 Gratama Science Award has been awarded to Dr Ymkje Anna de Vries of the Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences of the University of Groningen. De Vries followed degree programmes in the fields of neuroscience, clinical science and...

  • 01 July 2020

    Wierenga-Rengerink Dissertation Prize for Arpi Karapetian

    The Wierenga-Rengerink Dissertation Prize for the best PhD thesis of the year 2019 has been awarded to Dr Arpi Karapetian. Her 502-page thesis is entitled Bestuurdersaansprakelijkheid uit onrechtmatige daad: Civielrechtelijke en strafrechtelijke...