Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Practical matters How to find us T.A. (Thomas) Schlathölter, Dr

T.A. (Thomas) Schlathölter, Dr

Senior Lecturer/ Associate Professor

I am a group leader at the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials. Until now, I published more than 100  articles in peer reviewed journals (h-index ISI: 28, Google Scholar: 35) and gave more than 50 invited presentations at international conferences. I consider myself one of the leading experts in the field of gas-phase biomolecules. My current interests focus on i) biomolecular radiation damage for cancer therapy and studied on the molecular level from single molecules over clusters and nanoparticles to DNA in solution; ii) mass spectrometry of complex trapped molecular ions upon activation with energetic ions and VUV/soft X-ray photons and processes such as charge migration, stability, fragmentation of proteins and DNA; iii) PAH fragmentation upon keV ion impact or photoabsorption, superhydrogenation of PAHs, astrochemistry applications.

I was awarded a Marie Curie fellowship (1997) and the Max-Auwärter Prize of the Austrian Physical Society (1998). I was a Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (2001-2006) and a CNRS Chercheur Invité at the Universié Piérre et Marie Curie (2007). I chaired the workgroups on biomolecular interations in the EU COST networks RADAM (2003-2007) and Nano-Ion Beam Cancer Therapy (2011-2015) as well as in the EU integrated infrastructure initiative ITSLEIF (2006-2010). I currently chair the workgroup 1 "New high-performance instrumentation and experimental methods" of the EU COST action MD-GAS.


1993: Graduation as Diplomphysiker (equivalent to Msc in Physics) at the University of Osnabrück, Germany. 

1996: PhD in Physics at the University of Osnabrück, Germany. Title: "Elastische und elektronische Wechselwirkungen schneller H2, N2 und CO2 Moleküle mit Palladiumoberflächen" 

Scientific awards and fellowships:

1997: Marie Curie Fellow of the EU, individual gran

1998: Max Auwärter Prize of the Austrian Physical Society

2001: 2006 Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences

2007: CNRS Chercheur Invité, Institute de Nanosciences de Paris, Université Pierre et Marie Curie


1993-1995: Research assistant, Univeristy of Osnabrück, Germany

1995-1996: Research Assistant, LCAM, Université Paris Sud, Orsay, France

1996-1997: Postdoctoral research fellow, Kernfysisch Versneller Instituut, University of Groningen, Netherlands

1997-1999: Marie Curie postdoctoral fellow, University of Groningen, Netherlands

1999-2001:  Postdoctoral research fellow, Kernfysisch Versneller Instituut, University of Groningen, Netherlands

2001-2006: Universitair Docent (equivalent to Assistant Professor), Kernfysisch Versneller Instituut, University of Groningen, Netherlands

2006-2013: Universitair Hoofddocent (equivalent to Associate Professor),  Kernfysisch Versneller Instituut, University of Groningen, Netherlands

since January 2014: Universitair Hoofddocent (equivalent to Associate Professor),  Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, University of Groningen, Netherlands


EU COST action RADAM: Chair of the workgroup “Ions and Biomolecular interactions” (2003-2007); EU ITSLEIF network: Chair of the workgroup "Biomolecular radiation damage (2006-2010); EU COST action NANO-IBCT, chair of the workgroup: “Primary Ionization of the Medium” (2011-2015); EU COST action “XUV/X-ray light and fast ions for ultrafast chemistry” (XLIC) : Management committee member (since 2013); Board member of the Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Division of the European Physical Society and Chair of the Section Electronic and Atomic Collisions (2015-2020)


Phys. Rev. Lett., Phys. Rev. A, Phys. Rev. E., J. Phys. B, J. Chem. Phys., J. Am. Chem. Soc, ChemPhysChem, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., Eur. Phys. J. D, Nucl. Instr. Meth. B, Int. J. Mass Spectr., Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., Rap. Comm. Mass Spec, etc.       

Editorial work:

European Physical Journal D

Molecules (Physical Chemistry section)


Last modified:25 June 2022 1.16 p.m.