Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Young Academy Groningen

The Young Academy Groningen welcomes eight new members

18 October 2022

At the inauguration ceremony on September 27th, the Young Academy Groningen welcomed eight new members!

decorative image
Front L-R:  Else Starkenburg, Faculty Science and Engineering (also member of De Jonge Akademie), Naomi de Ruiter, University College Groningen, Jolien Mouw, Faculty of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Sean Desjardins, Faculty of Arts
Back: L-R: Alberto Godioli, Faculty of Arts, Sander van Lanen, Faculty of Spatial Sciences, Riemer Vegter, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Leonieke Bolderman, Faculty of Spatial Sciences

The ceremony was opened by our Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga. The programme of the evening included the presentation of the research minutes videos of the new members and of their cohort project, ‘Tools of the trade’,  which focuses on the process of producing knowledge. Tassos Sarampalis (Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences)  gave an inspiring lecture about the uncertainty in finding the truth.

We said goodbye and thank you to the leaving 2017 cohort and to the leaving board members Tina Kretschmer (former chair), Jocelien Olivier and Marieke van Vugt. In September, Benjamin Leruth from the Faculty of Arts succeeded Tina Kretschmar as YAG chair and Karsten Schulz from Campus Fryslân joined the current board members Shirin Faraji and Hanna van Loo. We are looking forward to the next inspiring YAG year!

decorative image
Current YAG board, L-R: Karsten Schulz, Campus Fryslân, Hanna van Loo, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Shirin Faraij, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Benjamin Leruth, Faculty of Arts (YAG chair)

You can watch the research minute videos of our new members here.

Visit our website or join our mailing list to stay informed and for details about our upcoming events, including:

  • November 16th: ECR lunch
  • February 1st: Start of talk-series "Pint of Science”-style at Café De Toeter
Last modified:18 October 2022 11.30 a.m.

More news