Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
ResearchVan Swinderen Institute

Physics: Prof. dr. R. Timmermans, KVI, University of Groningen: The Nobel prize in physics 2008: Broken symmetries


18 December 2008 FWN-Building 5111.0080, Nijenborgh 4, 9747 AG, Groningen
Speaker: Physics: Prof. dr. R. Timmermans
Affiliation: KVI / University of Groningen
Title: The Nobel prize in physics 2008: Broken symmetries
Date: 18-12-2008
Start: 16.00
Location: FWN-Building 5111.0080


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008 was awarded to Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi, and Toshihide Maskawa for their landmark discoveries about Nature’s symmetries. In this colloquium I first review Nambu’s concept of spontaneously broken symmetry. Next I discuss the broken symmetry of Kobayashi and Maskawa. The implications for particle physics and cosmology will be addressed. We will answer the all-important question: Was the Nobel Committee right?
Last modified:12 September 2014 11.22 a.m.