Non-thermal emission and magnetic fields in nearby galaxies: A low-frequency radio continuum perspective

Seethapuram Sridhar, S., 2018, [Groningen]: University of Groningen. 192 p.

Research output: ThesisThesis fully internal (DIV)Academic

Copy link to clipboard


  • Title and contents

    Final publisher's version, 189 KB, PDF document

  • Chapter 1

    Final publisher's version, 7 MB, PDF document

  • Chapter 2

    Final publisher's version, 20 MB, PDF document

  • Chapter 3

    Final publisher's version, 12 MB, PDF document

  • Chapter 4

    Final publisher's version, 20 MB, PDF document

  • Chapter 5

    Final publisher's version, 647 KB, PDF document

  • Chapter 6

    Final publisher's version, 140 KB, PDF document

  • Appendices

    Final publisher's version, 3 MB, PDF document

  • Complete thesis

    Final publisher's version, 63 MB, PDF document

  • Propositions

    Final publisher's version, 40 KB, PDF document

  • Sarrvesh Seethapuram Sridhar
Magnetic fields in galaxies can be detected and studied by mapping the radio emission produced by cosmic ray electrons as they accelerate along the field lines in the interstellar medium. By observing galaxies at low radio frequencies (in the metre-wavelength regime), we can detect electromagnetic radiation produced by old populations of electrons which can propagate to the far reaches/outskirts of the galaxy. However, previous low-frequency observations of nearby galaxies are largely limited by their low sensitivity (unable to detect faint, diffuse emission) and poor angular resolution (unable to differentiate between sources). In this thesis, I have observed and studied a sample of nearby galaxies to map the magnetic field strength in them. These galaxies were observed using two radio telescopes operated from the Netherlands (the Low Frequency Array (LOFAR) and the Westerbork Synthesis Radio Telescope) both of which offer improved sensitivity and better angular resolution than previous studies.
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDoctor of Philosophy
Awarding Institution
  • Hulst, van der, Thijs, Supervisor
  • Heald, George, Co-supervisor
  • Scaife, A. M. M., Assessment committee, External person
  • Irwin, Judith A., Assessment committee, External person
  • Barthel, Pieter, Assessment committee
Award date29-Oct-2018
Place of Publication[Groningen]
Print ISBNs978–94–034–1148–4
Electronic ISBNs978–94–034–1147–7
Publication statusPublished - 2018

View graph of relations

Download statistics

No data available

ID: 66164982