Publication

Building on Tyler’s early insights regarding international teaching assistant comprehensibility

Tapper, G., Drzazga, G., Mendoza, M. & Grill, J. C., 2018, Language Learning, Discourse and Cognition: Studies in the tradition of Andrea Tyler. Pickering, L. & Evans, V. (eds.). John Benjamins Publishers, p. 37–62 26 p.

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterAcademicpeer-review

This chapter revisits Tyler’s early research on ITA comprehensibility while also considering recent work on instructional discourse. The purpose of the study is to explore Tyler’s early conclusions regarding the sources of listeners’ perception of incoherence in ITA classroom discourse. Following Tyler’s methodology, the data collected consists of videotapes of the same lab session taught by four different TAs, two native speakers and two non-native speakers. The transcripts of the lab sessions are analyzed in terms of the use of discourse management strategies to determine the differences between native speaker and non-native speaker TAs. Finally, we discuss how those differences may affect ITA comprehensibility as well as implications for ITA training.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationLanguage Learning, Discourse and Cognition
Subtitle of host publicationStudies in the tradition of Andrea Tyler
Editors Lucy Pickering, Vyvyan Evans
PublisherJohn Benjamins Publishers
Chapter2
Pages37–62
Number of pages26
ISBN (Electronic)9789027263216
ISBN (Print)9789027201805
Publication statusPublished - 2018

ID: 97364121