Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
OnderzoekOnderzoek Faculteit der LetterenOnderzoeksinstitutenThe Groningen Research Institute for the Study of Culture (ICOG)News

Open Call Saas-Fee Summer Institute of Art, 2018, Berlin

Deadline: 19 May 2019
15 May 2018

Applications being accepted now for:
July 9 - 21, 2018
Application period begins now and continues to May 19th, 2018
Saas-Fee Summer Institute of Art (SFSIA) | Berlin, titled Art and the Poetics of Praxis in Cognitive Capitalism, will engage with critical concerns of past programs —estrangement, individuation, and collectivity— in order to consider the performative power of poetry. Through deep readings, workshops, and performative lectures, we will strive to discover new words, meanings, and rhythms of resistance and reconstruction. In the tradition of Rimbaud, we seek a deregulation of language, as well as,  alternative vocabularies and models which are necessary to understand and act upon our present predicament: cognitive capitalism, neo-colonialism, data surveillance. The hope is to create an experimental platform for debate and mutual self-education, with poetry and its production as a reference point for undertaking interdisciplinary, intersectional, epistemological adventures beyond our present cognitive confines. We hope to create a new concept of homo poeticus. SFSIA encourages applications from scholars and artists, as well as inquisitive graduate, postgraduate, and undergraduate students from fields such as art, architecture, critical writing, poetry, cognitive neuroscience, medicine, technology studies, critical theory, cultural studies, film and media studies, though all disciplines are welcome.  
SFSIA Hosted by Spike Magazine, Berlin
Warren Neidich, Founding Director
Andrew Berardini, Anke Henning, Ariana Reines, Armen Avanessian, Barry Schwabsky, (co-director) Beatriz Colomina, Boris Groys, Daniel Falb, Georgia Sagri, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Isaac Julien, John Yau, Julieta Aranda, Hubertus von Amelunxen, Karl Holmquist, Marcus Steinweg, Marie-Luise Knott, Marina Fokidis, Marjan Sharifi, Mathieu Copeland, Meena Alexander, Olu Oguibe, Quinn Latimer, Raimundas MalaĊĦauskas, Tino Sehgal, Yuk Hui and others.
Applications by email must arrive by 11:59pm UTC+1 May 19, 2018
For inquiries, please contact:
Last modified:09 July 2018 12.23 p.m.

More news

  • 16 October 2018

    Digital Society Conference Dutch universities

    Digital information technology is permeating society ever deeper. It is now clear that digitalization will radically change virtually every aspect of society, not only in the Netherlands but across the world. That is why 14 Dutch universities, associated...

  • 09 October 2018

    What the world really needs to know about leadership

    ‘Do you know how often organizations select the wrong manager?’, asks Janka Stoker. ‘Recent research carried out by Gallup shows that this happens in a staggering 82% of cases! These managers were often chosen just because they happened to be very...

  • 02 October 2018

    Young Academy Groningen welcomes eight new members

    The Young Academy Groningen (YAG) has appointed eight new members from diverse disciplines at the University of Groningen. Dr Laura Bringmann, dr Jan Willem Bolderdijk, dr Nanna Hilton, dr Tina Kretschmer, dr Jocelien Olivier, dr Saskia Peels, dr Marleen...