Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering Research GRIP News and activities

Festive installation of new Rosalind Franklin Fellows

11 November 2014

On Monday 10 November 2014, seventeen new Rosalind Franklin Fellows were installed at the University of Groningen. Rector Magnificus Elmer Sterken and Prof Ingrid Molema, Chair of the RFF Committee, stressed the importance of the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship programme, which has been designed to create room for talented woman scientists as well as to increase the number of woman scientists with a permanent appointment at the university.

The new Rosalind Franklin Fellows for Pharmacy are Anna Salvati and Ykelien Boersma.

After the new Rosalind Franklin Fellows were introduced via short videos, Dr Catarina Dutilh Novaes gave a passionate lecture titled ‘In praise of affirmative action’. ‘Long live the RFF programme!’, said Novaes, Rosalind Franklin Fellow at the Faculty of Philosophy since 2012. ‘There are many reasons to ensure that it continues to be the successful affirmative action programme it has been for more than ten years. You are role models, you are paving the way.’

More information

RFF installation
RFF installation
Last modified:11 November 2014 12.19 p.m.

More news

  • 10 July 2020

    ENLIGHT recognized as a European University

    The ENLIGHT consortium of nine European universities, including the University of Groningen, was selected within the framework of the second call for ‘European Universities’, the European Commission's pilot program for new multilateral networks....

  • 08 July 2020

    Piekopvang in Groningen voorbereid voor internationale studenten

    Aan het einde van de zomer komen er naast veel Nederlandse studenten ook internationale studenten naar Groningen om voor kortere of langere tijd te studeren aan de Hanzehogeschool Groningen (HG) of de Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG). Vanwege de...

  • 01 July 2020

    Sander de Hosson elected Alumnus of the Year 2019

    Lung doctor Sander de Hosson has been elected Alumnus of the Year 2019 by the University of Groningen. He is receiving the award for the incisive way in which he calls for attention for the emotional side of palliative care and for making death a...