Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Medical Sciences Research Epidemiology Research and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Chronic airway diseases epidemiology

Mission

Study the aetiology and progression of chronic airway diseases, with an emphasis on genetic susceptibility and gene - environment interactions.

Assets

  • Vlagtwedde_Vlaardingen cohort study
  • Doetinchem cohort study
  • EC  Respiratory Health Survey I+II
  • PIAMA cohort study
  • APHEA I+II
  • Asthma patients cohorts
  • TRAILS
  • LifeLines
  • COPACETIC (FP7)
  • GABRIEL (FP6)

Senior staff
Name Title and collaboration E-mail address Topic
Marike Boezen

Full Professor

Unit chair

h.m.boezen ucmg.nl Chronic pulmonary diseases; genetic epidemiology, epigenetics, exposures
Judith Vonk Assistant professor j.m.vonk umcg.nl Longitudinal data analysis: Etiology and course of asthma and COPD; Lifelines
Ronald Stolk Professor, honorary appointment r.p.stolk rug.nl Center for Information Technology, University Groningen
Jan Schouten

Assistant professor, honorary appointment

Medical ethical committee UMCG
Noha Hooiveld - El-Baz Coordinator Education n.elbaz umcg.nl Scientific training, education coordinator
Diana van der Plaat Postdoc Genetics and epigenetics of COPD
Thomas Wieringa Postdoc t.h.wieringa umcg.nl E-learning Epidemiology
Maaike de Vries Postdoc m.de.vries04 umcg.nl (Epi)genetics of COPD and ageing
PhD students Collaboration
Alireza Abdollahi Digestive system diseases unit m.abdollahi umcg.nl The disease course in autoimmune hepatitis
Thomas Pereira Bernardes Patient-centered HTA unit; Obstetrics UMCG, AMC t.p.c.h.pereira.bernardes umcg.nl Risk of hypertensive pregnancy complications
Qing Chen Pathology, UMCG q.chen umcg.nl Functional studies on novel COPD susceptibility genes for environmental exposures.
Omar Faruque Health Sciences m.o.faruque umcg.nl Occupational exposures and general health outcomes
Tesfa Habtewold Digestive system diseases unit, Psychiatry, UMCG t.d.habtewold umcg.nl Latent class analyses to distinghuish subgroups in heterogeneous outcomes
Bruce Kirenga General Practice and Elderly Care Medicine, UMCG Asthma in Uganda
Kebede Misgina Patient-centered HTA unit: Pediatrics UMCG, Danone k.h.misgina umcg.nl Transgenerational malnutrition in early life in Northern Ethiopia
Maartje Nieuwenhuis Pulmonology m.a.e.nieuwenhuis umcg.nl Genetics of different asthma phenotypes
Elnaz Naderi Digestive system diseases unit e.naderi umcg.nl Genome and genemics of radio-sensitivity in indivudualized prediction of radiotoxicity
Thomas Pereira Bernardes Patient-centered HTA unit; Obstetrics UMCG, AMC
Diana van der Plaat Pulmonology, Genetics d.a.van.der.plaat umcg.nl (Epi)genetics and exposures of COPD
Mirjam Roffel Pathology h.roffel umcg.nl MicroRNAs in obstructive airway diseases
Nynke Spinder Life style medicine unit, EUROCAT, Genetics, UMCG n.spinder umcg.nl Occupational exposures and congenital anomalies in the offspring
Rikstje Wiersma Human Movement Sciences r.wiersma umcg.nl Physical activity in childhood overweight across cultures
Last modified:12 September 2019 4.27 p.m.