Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usMedical SciencesResearchEpidemiologyResearch and Teaching
University Medical Center Groningen

Chronic airway diseases epidemiology

Mission

Study the aetiology and progression of chronic airway diseases, with an emphasis on genetic susceptibility and gene - environment interactions.

Assets

  • Vlagtwedde_Vlaardingen cohort study
  • Doetinchem cohort study
  • EC  Respiratory Health Survey I+II
  • PIAMA cohort study
  • APHEA I+II
  • Asthma patients cohorts
  • TRAILS
  • LifeLines
  • COPACETIC (FP7)
  • GABRIEL (FP6)

Senior staff
Name Title and collaboration E-mail address Topic
Marike Boezen

Full Professor

Unit chair

h.m.boezen@ucmg.nl Chronic pulmonary diseases; genetic epidemiology, epigenetics, exposures
Judith Vonk Assistant professor j.m.vonk@umcg.nl Longitudinal data analysis: Etiology and course of asthma and COPD; Lifelines
Noha Hooiveld - El-Baz Lecturer n.elbaz@umcg.nl Scientific training, education coordinator
Kim de Jong Postdoc Environmental exposures, (epi) genetics of COPD
Thomas Wieringa Postdoc t.h.wieringa@umcg.nl E-learning Epidemiology
Maaike de Vries Postdoc m.de.vries04@umcg.nl (Epi)genetics of COPD and ageing
PhD fellows Collaboration
Qing Chen Pathology q.chen@umcg.nl Functional studies on novel COPD susceptibility genes for environmental exposures
Omar Faruque Health Sciences m.o.faruque@umcg.nl Occupational exposures and general health outcomes
Maartje Nieuwenhuis Pulmonology m.a.e.nieuwenhuis@umcg.nl Genetics of different asthma phenotypes
Diana van der Plaat Pulmonology, Genetics d.a.van.der.plaat@umcg.nl (Epi)genetics and exposures of COPD
Mirjam Roffel Pathology h.roffel@umcg.nl
Nynke Spinder EUROCAT n.spinder@umcg.nl Occupational exposures and congenital anomalies in the offspring
Rikstje Wiersma Human Movement Sciences r.wiersma@umcg.nl Physical activity in childhood overweight across cultures
Last modified:09 May 2019 2.23 p.m.