Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

SOM research performance awards for Giurge, Aalbers, Jong-a-Pin and Verhoef

05 July 2013

The 2012 SOM awards for Best Graduate of the Research Master, best PhD Thesis, Outstanding Junior Researcher and for Outstanding Researcher were presented on June 21 2013

Best Research Master Graduate

Laura Giurge, the winner of the Best Graduate of the Research Master Economics & Business was awarded 1,000 euro's. Her master thesis “The Personal Power Paradox: Freedom and Threat as Opposing Mechanisms Linking Personal Power with Stress”, supervised by Frank Walter and Jennifer Jordan was awarded with a grade 8 and she graduated cum laude with a weighted average of 8.4. Laura is now working as a PhD student at ERIM, Rotterdam.

Best PhD Thesis

The award of 1,500 euro was for Rick Aalbers for his thesis “Organizing intra-organizational networks for innovation”, supervised by Prof. Wilfred Dolfsma and Prof. Roger Leenders. The jury awarded this thesis because amongst others it contains several high-quality papers including two in the top journals Research Policy and Journal of Product Innovation Management.

Rick Aalbers is currently a Tenure Track researcher at Radboud University Nijmegen.

Outstanding Junior Researcher

The 2,000 euro prize for junior researcher was awarded to Richard Jong-A-Pin. He obtained his PhD degree in 2008, and he already published more than 15 articles in international journals like the top journals European Economic Review and International Economic Review. In 2011 he co-organised the Spring Meeting of Young Economists in Groningen. You can read more about Richard in the interview on page xx.

Outstanding Researcher

Peter Verhoef, professor of marketing at FEB was awarded 2,500 euro by the SOM Board for his overall performance. Verhoef has numerous publications in top journals like Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research and Marketing Science. He supervised 8 PhD students and won several awards, the most recent the the Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing Award 2012: a prestigious award for scientific articles that have proven long-term impact.

He is currently an editorial board member of several top journals and he functions as an area editor for the International Journal of Research in Marketing.

Last modified:04 July 2014 9.37 p.m.

More news