Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation

Language Centre

Express yourself <> understand the world
Language Centre About us Innovation/Projects Gerrit Krolprijs

Zito Ysenbaert winner of Gerrit Krol Award 2019

The entries for the first edition of the Gerrit Krol Award have been submitted and the jury has deliberated. On 12 June, they have announced the very first winner of the essay award: Zito Ysenbaert!

Ysenbaert studies Dutch and English Language and Culture at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) and showed with his submission that language is more than a mere communication tool. In his essay, he handles the Dutch language in a masterful way to prove a crucial point concerning human nature: people will always fear diversity. Zito Ysenbaert lets chaos make way for a work of art, for composition, for a new story and for inclusivity of everything that before seemed irreconcilable. The other nominees were Takashi Nakamura and Yasmine Finani.

The three nominated students have each applied the theme of inclusiveness in their own unique way. They have all used the Dutch language in a beautiful way to express their personal vision. In all three texts, form and content were combined to make for very convincing essays, which will spur the reader to contemplation and even stimulate them to take action. All jury members were very enthusiastic about these entries and the committee is delighted that the very first edition of the Gerrit Krol Award has already attracted such talented writers.

The Language Centre and the Faculty of Arts of the University of Groningen have established the Gerrit Krol Award this year in order to pay structural attention to Dutch as an academic language. Students from all universities in Dutch-speaking regions were invited to submit their essays of up to 2,000 words in Dutch. An expert jury decided which submissions were nominated for the award and who would be the winner. The jury comprised writer Ellen Deckwitz, Ellen Krol, who is Gerrit Krol’s daughter, and lecturer at the UG Language Centre and writer Ronald Ohlsen. The selection criteria were originality, stylistic ingenuity, and a talent for entertainment. Zito Ysenbaert’s essay has been published on literary weblog Tzum.

The three nominees for the Gerrit Krol Award (fltr): Yasmine Finani, Zito Ysenbaert and Takashi Nakamura (Photo: Gerhard Taatgen)
The three nominees for the Gerrit Krol Award (fltr): Yasmine Finani, Zito Ysenbaert and Takashi Nakamura (Photo: Gerhard Taatgen)
Last modified:17 July 2019 2.26 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands