Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
KVI - Center for Advanced Radiation TechnologyNewsNews Archive

University of Groningen joins the AMS-02 collaboration

09 April 2018

With the appointment of the Rosalind Franklin Fellow Dr. Manuela Vecchi at KVI-CART, the University of Groningen recently became part of the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS-02), a cosmic rays detector operating aboard the International Space Station. As a magnetic spectrometer, AMS-02 is unique in physics research as it studies charged particles and nuclei from original sources in the cosmos before they interact in the Earth’s atmosphere. The improvement in accuracy over previous measurements is made possible through its long duration time in space, large acceptance, built in redundant systems and its thorough calibration in the CERN test beam. These features enable AMS-02 to analyze the data to an accuracy of about 1% and thereby requiring new theories to be developed by the physics and astrophysics community.

Dr. Vecchi has been part of the project since 2011, her activity being focused on antimatter measurement sand its phenomenological implications.

Last modified:09 April 2018 08.16 a.m.

More news

  • 02 December 2019

    Podcast ‘In de Wetenschap’ with Caspar van den Berg

    In de Wetenschap (In Science) is the University of Groningen podcast where we interview researchers and bring you the latest news and reports from the academic community in Groningen. At the moment all our episodes are recorded in Dutch, but we're...

  • 28 November 2019

    Red deer hardly react to wolf urine in the Netherlands and Poland

    Large carnivores like wolves are slowly returning to parts of Western Europe, including the Netherlands. Red deer have lived here in the absence of wolves for well over a century. This has led to them not growing wary at the smell of wolf urine, according...

  • 28 November 2019

    Accreditatie voor studentenvereniging Vindicat

    De Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG) en de Hanzehogeschool Groningen (HG) nemen het advies van de Accreditatiecommissie Studentenorganisaties over om studentenvereniging Vindicat atque Polit weer te accrediteren.