Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering New Building: Feringa Building

Building name Zernikeborg transferred to FSE

02 September 2014

On Tuesday 2 September 2014 the building name Zernikeborg is officially transferred to the Faculty of Science and Engineering. Accompanied by a brass band a delegation from CIT symbolically transported the letters to the entrance of Nijenborgh 4, where CIT director Tjeerd Willem Hobma officially handed over the Zernikeborg to Dick Veldhuis, Faculty Director of FSE.

Zernikeborg for new building FSE
The name Zernikeborg is intended for the new building of FSE, which will start in 2015. Because the name Zernike - as a famous physicist and Nobel Prize winner - is inextricably linked to the natural sciences, the University decided (in cooperation with CIT) to hand over the name Zernikeborg to FSE.

Smitsborg: new name CIT building
Jan de Jeu, Vice president of the Board of the University, was also present to unveil the new name of the CIT building: Smitsborg. This name was the outcome of a contest. Three lucky prize winners came up with this new name.


Feringa Building | New building for FSE

Visit FSE or GroundbreakingWork
Watch the webcam!

Last modified:07 August 2020 11.34 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 22 July 2020

    Northern Netherlands carefully anticipating second wave

    Even though they miss their freedom, gezelligheid and spontaneous fun, the inhabitants of the Northern Netherlands are careful when making their holiday plans for this summer. Only 14% of the Northern Dutch are going on holiday abroad this summer,...

  • 10 July 2020

    ENLIGHT recognized as a European University

    The ENLIGHT consortium of nine European universities, including the University of Groningen, was selected within the framework of the second call for ‘European Universities’, the European Commission's pilot program for new multilateral networks....

  • 08 July 2020

    Piekopvang in Groningen voorbereid voor internationale studenten

    Aan het einde van de zomer komen er naast veel Nederlandse studenten ook internationale studenten naar Groningen om voor kortere of langere tijd te studeren aan de Hanzehogeschool Groningen (HG) of de Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG). Vanwege de...